Stoner wins, Lorenzo taken out of Assen TT

Casey Stoner

Casey Stoner

Casey Stoner has cruised to victory in the Dutch Grand Prix after title rival Jorge Lorenzo was taken out of the race in a first corner crash.

Yamaha rider Lorenzo was collected by an ambitious move from Alvaro Bautista at the first turn, taking out the championship leader.

Lorenzo’s demise was Stoner’s title gain, moving to equal championship points with Lorenzo at the top of the table with 11 rounds remaining.

The Australian’s win wasn’t assured, though, until the final 10 laps where he passed Honda team-mate Dani Pedrosa. Stoner pounced on a small mistake from the Spaniard to take the lead and ride on to a convincing win.

The victory is Stoner’s third win for the 2012 season.

Yamaha’s Ben Spies held third place until the start of the final lap before he was passed by Andrea Dovizioso (Tech 3 Yamaha).

Dovizioso’s team-mate Cal Crutchlow took fifth place ahead of Nicky Hayden (Ducati) and Hector Barbera (Pramac).

Randy de Puniet took eighth place, the first of the CRT bikes, with Michele Pirro (San Carlo Honda Gresini) and Mattia Pasini (Speed Master) rounding out the top 10.

The next round of the MotoGP championship will be held in Germany next weekend.

Results, Assen TT

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1 25 1 Casey STONER AUS Repsol Honda Team Honda 171.4 41’19.855
2 20 26 Dani PEDROSA SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 171.1 +4.965
3 16 4 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 170.6 +11.994
4 13 11 Ben SPIES USA Yamaha Factory Racing Yamaha 170.4 +14.775
5 11 35 Cal CRUTCHLOW GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 169.9 +22.074
6 10 69 Nicky HAYDEN USA Ducati Team Ducati 169.3 +31.660
7 9 8 Hector BARBERA SPA Pramac Racing Team Ducati 167.4 +59.107
8 8 14 Randy DE PUNIET FRA Power Electronics Aspar ART 167.1 +1’04.441
9 7 51 Michele PIRRO ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini FTR 166.9 +1’06.980
10 6 54 Mattia PASINI ITA Speed Master ART 165.7 +1’25.087
11 5 9 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA Came IodaRacing Project Ioda 165.3 +1’32.103
12 4 22 Ivan SILVA SPA Avintia Blusens BQR 165.2 +1’33.797
13 3 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Ducati Team Ducati 163.6 1 Lap
14 2 77 James ELLISON GBR Paul Bird Motorsport ART 163.6 1 Lap
Not Classified
41 Aleix ESPARGARO SPA Power Electronics Aspar ART 167.0 12 Laps
5 Colin EDWARDS USA NGM Mobile Forward Racing Suter 155.7 19 Laps
68 Yonny HERNANDEZ COL Avintia Blusens BQR 165.6 21 Laps
6 Stefan BRADL GER LCR Honda MotoGP Honda 162.0 25 Laps
99 Jorge LORENZO SPA Yamaha Factory Racing Yamaha 0 Lap
19 Alvaro BAUTISTA SPA San Carlo Honda Gresini Honda 0 Lap
Not Starting
17 Karel ABRAHAM CZE Cardion AB Motoracing Ducati 0 Lap

Here is the Foxsports News report

Comments are closed.