IndyCar amends qualification groups for Iowa race

Simon Pagenaud in his #77 entry

Simon Pagenaud in his #77 entry

IndyCar has amended the procedure to determine qualification groups for the three heat races to be held at Iowa Speedway for the Iowa Corn Indy 250.

Only the results from the second practice session this Saturday night will go towards setting qualification groups. It was originally stated the the combined results from both practice sessions would determine the qualification groups.

Race 1 will consist of the even-numbered positions, starting with the 10th-quickest practice time, and determine the even-numbered positions in the starting field from 10th down.

Race 2 will consist of the odd-numbered positions, starting with the ninth-quickest practice time, and determine the odd-numbered positions in the starting field from ninth down.

Race 3 will consist of drivers ranked one through eight from the second practice session. Results of Race 3 will determine the first four rows, with the winner taking the pole position.

In other Iowa race-related news, IndyCar has directed a maximum rear flap angle of 37 degrees with no wicker allowed for the race.

After input from IZOD IndyCar Series drivers and engineers, a technical bulletin sent to teams follows two days of testing by 21 cars total at the 0.875-mile oval last week. The rule will reduce downforce available by about 8-9 percent.

Aside from this alteration, the short oval aerodynamic package utilised at the Milwaukee Mile last weekend will be employed. This includes mandatory speedway front brake backing plates, prohibit rear wheel infils and sidepod top deck and optional two-thirds radiator inlet shutters.

Australian Will Power leads the IZOD IndyCar Series ahead of canadian James Hinchcliffe and Scott Dixon.

Comments are closed.