Small band of co-drivers for Hidden Valley practice

Reigning Bathurst winner Nick Percat

Reigning Bathurst winner Nick Percat

Just 12 endurance co-drivers have been nominated to take part in the first two practice sessions at Hidden Valley Raceway tomorrow.

The practice format for the Skycity Triple Crown will see endurance drivers and those in the lower 50 percent of the championship complete the first two 30 minute sessions, before the full field of regular drivers take to the track for a further two half-hour hit-outs in the afternoon.

While a total of 26 co-drivers turned laps in Phillip Island’s co-driver sessions last month, Warren Luff, Scott Pye, Nick Percat, Cameron McConville, Dale Wood, Tim Blanchard, Alex Davison, Greg Ritter, Jack Perkins and Paul Morris are the only additional drivers entered this weekend.

UPDATE: Two of Brad Jones Racing’s endurance drivers have been added to this weekend’s list, with Andrew Jones and David Besnard joining Jason Bright and Fabian Coulthard respectively.

A similarly small band of co-drivers took part at Hidden Valley last year, with several team owners citing the cost of flying the additional drivers to Darwin as greater than the benefit gained from the short sessions.

Of those entered, Triple Eight’s Dunlop Series racer Scott Pye has been slated to drive the TeamVodafone Commodores in the absence of Jamie Whincup’s partner Paul Dumbrell.

The situation will leave Taz Douglas, who will be joined by Pye at Sandown at Bathurst, to complete a full four session practice program in the iSelect Commodore.

See below for the full Skycity Triple Crown entry list

1 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Warren Luff Scott Pye VE II
2 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Nick Percat Cameron McConville VE II
3 Team Hiflex Tony D’Alberto Dale Wood FG
4 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth FG
5 Orrcon Steel FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom FG
6 Tradingpost FPR Ford Will Davison FG
7 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Tim Blanchard VE II
8 Team BOC Jason Bright Andrew Jones VE II
9 SP Tools Racing Shane van Gisbergen FG
11 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler VE II
12 Jim Beam Racing Dean Fiore FG
14 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard David Besnard VE II
15 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly VE II
17 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson FG
18 Team Norton DJR James Moffat Alex Davison FG
19 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb VE II
21 Wilson Security Racing David Wall VE II
22 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Nick Percat Cameron McConville VE II
30 Team iSelect Taz Douglas VE II
33 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Greg Ritter Jack Perkins VE II
34 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Greg Ritter Jack Perkins VE II
47 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade FG
49 V.I.P. Petfoods Steve Owen Paul Morris FG
51 Pepsi Max Crew David Russell VE II
55 The Bottle-O FPR Ford David Reynolds FG
66 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall VE II
91 Tekno Autosports Michael Patrizi VE II
888 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Warren Luff Scott Pye VE II

┬áSee below for’s Skycity Triple Crown Race Guide

Comments are closed.