Alex Tagliani scores Texas pole

Alex Tagliani

Alex Tagliani

Alex Tagliani will start from pole position for Saturday’s IndyCar event at Texas Motor Speedway.

The Canadian set an average speed of 215.691mph across his two qualifying laps at the wheel of the Bryan Herta Autosport entry, scoring the eighth pole of his career and the first for Herta’s team.

Indy 500 winner Dario Franchitti will start from second in his Ganassi entry having missed pole by an average difference of 0.0102 seconds.

Tagliani said that his team’s fortunes have swung dramatically since switching to Honda power.

“I told people after we sat out the race in Brazil that our season started in Indy and it did, with Honda power,” said Tagliani.

“It is an honour to be part of the Honda family and I am so happy to win this pole for the team and for Honda. We are very happy to start up front and I’d like to think that we will be a threat in the race.”

Graham Rahal will start from the inside of the second row ahead of New Zealader Scott Dixon.

Penske’s Will Power will start fifth and the first of the Chevrolet runners. His Australian team-mate Ryan Briscoe will start 12th.

James Hinchcliffe, Tony Kanaan, Mike Conway, Marco Andretti and Takuma Sato will occupy sixth to 10th on the grid respectively.

Qualifying, Firestone 550

Pos No Driver Engine MPH
1 98 Alex Tagliani Honda 215.691
2 10 Dario Franchitti Honda 215.646
3 38 Graham Rahal Honda 215.554
4 9 Scott Dixon Honda 215.331
5 12 Will Power Chevrolet 215.116
6 27 James Hinchcliffe Chevrolet 214.920
7 11 Tony Kanaan Chevrolet 214.701
8 14 Mike Conway Honda 214.458
9 26 Marco Andretti Chevrolet 214.424
10 15 Takuma Sato Honda 214.196
11 77 Simon Pagenaud Honda 214.082
12 2 Ryan Briscoe Chevrolet 214.060
13 22 Oriol Servia Chevrolet 213.957
14 8 Rubens Barrichello Chevrolet 213.949
15 28 Ryan Hunter-Reay Chevrolet 213.927
16 5 EJ Viso Chevrolet 213.444
17 3 Helio Castroneves Chevrolet 213.402
18 83 Charlie Kimball Honda 212.833
19 18 Justin Wilson Honda 212.136
20 20 Ed Carpenter Chevrolet 211.643
21 19 James Jakes Honda 211.245
22 6 Katherine Legge Chevrolet 210.543
23 78 Simona de Silvestro Lotus 204.066
24 4 JR Hildebrand Chevrolet 202.596
25 67 Josef Newgarden Honda no speed



Comments are closed.