Mark Webber holds on for Monaco GP victory

Mark Webber

Mark Webber

Mark Webber has held off a train of rivals to take victory in an intense Monaco Grand Prix.

Webber led home Nico Rosberg, Fernando Alonso, Sebastian Vettel and Lewis Hamilton, with the top five covered by just 4.1s at the end of 78 laps of racing.

Felipe Massa, Paul di Resta, Nico Hulkenberg, Kimi Raikkonen and Bruno Senna rounded out the top 10.

The result is Webber’s second Monaco victory in three years, and sees the Australian become the sixth different winner in the first six races of the 2012 season.

Webber held his lead over fellow front-row starter Rosberg into the first corner, and maintained the advantage when pitting two laps later than the German at the first round of stops.

The leading drivers had held off on making their first stops due to reports of impending rain that never truly arrived.

Vettel, who was the only driver to start the race on the prime tyre, led the middle phase of the race as he completed a long first stint.

Webber returned to the front when Vettel finally pitted with 32 laps remaining, and managed to hold onto the top spot for the duration.

A comfortable 2s lead shrunk to as little as 0.5s over the last 10 laps as a brief shower saw Webber drive increasingly conservatively. Track position proved king however, with the top six drivers maintaining their places to the flag.

Michael Schumacher was the hard luck story of the race – eventually retiring after his Mercedes developed a gearbox problem while running seventh in the closing stages.

Schumacher had been involved in a spectacular collision with Romain Grosjean on the run to the first corner that  spun the Lotus across the circuit. Pastor Maldonado, Pedro de la Rosa and Kamui Kobayashi also sustained race-ending damage in the incident.

Charles Pic and Daniel Ricciardo were both on the retirements list due to mechanical problems, while Jenson Button failed to see the chequered flag after a race-long battle with Heikki Kovalainen ended with a spin from the McLaren at Turn 15.

Alonso now leads the championship standings on 76 points – three clear of Vettel and Webber. Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton round out the top five.

See below for the full race result







1 Mark Webber Red Bull Racing-Renault 78 Winner 1
2 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 78 +0.6 secs 2
3 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 78 +0.9 secs 5
4 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Racing-Renault 78 +1.3 secs 9
5 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 78 +4.1 secs 3
6 Felipe Massa Ferrari 78 +6.1 secs 7
7 Paul di Resta Force India-Mercedes 78 +41.5 secs 14
8 Nico Hulkenberg Force India-Mercedes 78 +42.5 secs 10
9 Kimi Räikkönen Lotus-Renault 78 +44.0 secs 8
10 Bruno Senna Williams-Renault 78 +44.5 secs 13
11 Sergio Perez Sauber-Ferrari 77 +1 Lap 23
12 Jean-Eric Vergne STR-Ferrari 77 +1 Lap 16
13 Heikki Kovalainen Caterham-Renault 77 +1 Lap 17
14 Timo Glock Marussia-Cosworth 77 +1 Lap 19
15 Narain Karthikeyan HRT-Cosworth 76 +2 Laps 22
16 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 70 +8 Laps 12
Ret Daniel Ricciardo STR-Ferrari 65 +13 Laps 15
Ret Charles Pic Marussia-Cosworth 64 +14 Laps 21
Ret Michael Schumacher Mercedes 63 +15 Laps 6
Ret Vitaly Petrov Caterham-Renault 15 Electrical 18
Ret Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 5 Accident damage 11
Ret Pedro de la Rosa HRT-Cosworth 0 Accident 20
Ret Pastor Maldonado Williams-Renault 0 Accident 24
Ret Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault 0 Accident 4

See below for the updated championship standings




1 Fernando Alonso 76
2 Sebastian Vettel 73
3 Mark Webber 73
4 Lewis Hamilton 63
5 Nico Rosberg 59
6 Kimi Räikkönen 51
7 Jenson Button 45
8 Romain Grosjean 35
9 Pastor Maldonado 29
10 Sergio Perez 22
11 Paul di Resta 21
12 Kamui Kobayashi 19
13 Bruno Senna 15
14 Felipe Massa 10
15 Nico Hulkenberg 7
16 Jean-Eric Vergne 4
17 Daniel Ricciardo 2
18 Michael Schumacher 2
19 Heikki Kovalainen 0
20 Timo Glock 0
21 Charles Pic 0
22 Narain Karthikeyan 0
23 Vitaly Petrov 0
24 Pedro de la Rosa 0

Here is the Foxsports News report

Comments are closed.