Sebastien Loeb leads in Greece as Petter Solberg charges

Sebastien Loeb holds the lead in Greece

Sebastien Loeb has extended his narrow lead at the Acropolis Rally, but it’s a different Ford rival that the Citroen star is trying to fend-off.

Loeb had come under intense pressure from factory Ford pilot Jari-Matti Latvala, who narrowed the French driver’s lead to one second, before a puncture caused by hitting a bank, robbed the Finn of his chance of victory.

As Latvala’s challenge fell away, team-mate Petter Solberg’s came to the fore as the Norwegian attacked in the increasingly slippery conditions caused by sporadic rain showers.

“We will continue to fight tomorrow and see what will happen,” said Loeb.

“Today has not been easy and there were times when the conditions were very difficult. But we are still leading and that’s the most important thing.”

With 65 competitive kilometres remaining the difference between the top two is just 10.2-seconds.

“After losing 14 seconds on the first day and 10 seconds yesterday, to lie just 10 seconds from the lead tonight isn’t so bad,” said Solberg.

“It will be a big fight tomorrow and I’m feeling confident. The stages will suit me and I really want to win.

Behind Solberg, Mikko Hirvonen (Citroen) is third with Latvala down in fourth having lost further ground by completing three stages with only three brakes as a result of the damage caused by his puncture.


Acropolis Rally – Leg 2

Position Driver Team Car Time
1 Sebastien Loeb Citroen Total WRT Citroen DSR3 WRC 3:56:13.0
2 Petter Solberg Fordf WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC +0:10.2
3 Mikko Hirvonen Citroen Total WRT Citroen DSR3 WRC +1:51.9
4 Jari-Matti Latvala Fordf WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC +4:44.6
5 Mads Ostberg Adapta World Rally Team Ford Fiesta RS WRC +7:39.7
6 Martin Prokop Czech Ford National Team Ford Fiesta RS WRC +8:08.6
7 Thierry Neuville Citroen Junior Team Citroen DSR3 WRC +10:39.4
8 Sebastien Ogier Volkswagen Motorspor Skoda Fabia S 2000 +12:17.9
9 Yazeed Al Rahji Yazeed Racing Ford Fiesta RS WRC +18:52.3
10 Andreas Mikkelsen Volkswagen Motorspor Skoda Fabia S 2000 +22:08.6


Comments are closed.