Will Davison extends FPR’s winning streak in Race 11

Will Davison leads Craig Lowndes at Phillip Island

Will Davison leads Craig Lowndes at Phillip Island

Will Davison has held off a late charge from Craig Lowndes to secure Ford Performance Racing’s seventh consecutive V8 Supercars Championship race victory

The Tradingpost Falcon took the chequered flag at the Phillip Island circuit 0.56s ahead of Lowndes, who had made his way past Shane van Gisbergen, Jamie Whincup and Jason Bright in the final 10 laps.

Bright held on for third, while Van Gisbergen, Whincup, Mark Winterbottom, Jonathon Webb, David Reynolds, Lee Holdsworth and Garth Tander rounded out the top 10.

The results see Davison return to the lead of the championship, with Whincup now 10 points adrift in second.

Race 11 contained four Safety Car periods – the first of which triggered a rush to the pitlane on just the fourth lap of the race.

The timing of the yellow split the field into two distinct strategies, with those pitting guaranteed to make it home on just one further stop, and those staying out likely to need more Safety Cars in order to cut the race into two equal stints.

Davison led the charge to the pits and would eventually restart seventh behind Jason Bright, Lee Holdsworth, Alexandre Premat, David Wall, Garth Tander and Michael Caruso – who had all elected to stay out.

Davison made his way to second before the next round of pitstops began midrace – eventually emerging with the lead when Bright made his one and only stop with 20 of the 45 laps remaining.

The Tradingpost Falcon driver held Bright at bay for two restarts following debris-induced Safety Car periods, before measuring the gap to the charging Lowndes across the final five laps.

Lowndes had earlier squandered his pole position by falling to 10th with a bad start.

The bad start allowed Reynolds to lead the opening lap but was soon demoted to third by team-mates Davison and Winterbottom.

The Orrcon Steel entry dropped five spots in the early pit shuffle after being forced to queue behind team-mate Davison. Winterbottom raised the ire of TeamVodafone by slowing considerably on the circuit on the way into pitlane in order to allow Davison to extend his lead, thereby minimising the cost of the double-stacking.

There was carnage further back in the pitlane, with Fabian Coulthard and Karl Reindler making contact while both trying to negotiate their way around Tim Slade.

Coulthard would eventually finish 24th after making multiple unscheduled pitstops thanks to damage from a deflated right-front tyre.

The race was little better for Reindler, who spun off the circuit at Turn 1 in an incident with Michael Patrizi, resulting in the second Safety Car period.

Steve Owen and Alexandre Premat found themselves in the wars at the opposite end of the race. Premat spun at Turn 4 after contact with Owen, with the Fujitsu Commodore subsequently hit head-on by David Wall in the resulting melee.

Wall pulled off into retirement soon after, while both Owen and Premat appeared to slide off on fluid dropped by the Wilson Security Commodore on the following laps.

Joining Wall on the retirements list were Rick Kelly and Tony D’Alberto, who both suffered from mechanical failures.

D’Alberto’s issue left the Hiflex Falcon stranded on the circuit, causing the first Safety Car period.

The 2012 V8 Supercars Championship will continue at Darwin’s Hidden Valley circuit in four weeks time.

See below for the full Race 11 result

1 Trading Post FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 45 01:19:46.1086
2 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 45 01:19:46.6638
3 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 45 01:19:51.3097
4 SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 45 01:19:52.1964
5 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 45 01:19:52.5299
6 Orrcon Steel FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 45 01:19:52.7973
7 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VE2 45 01:19:53.5489
8 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 45 01:19:57.2946
9 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Ford Falcon FG 45 01:19:59.2730
10 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 45 01:19:59.4164
11 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 45 01:20:02.8862
12 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 45 01:20:03.2282
13 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2 45 01:20:03.6873
14 Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2 45 01:20:04.5959
15 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 45 01:20:05.9244
16 Team Norton DJR James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 45 01:20:12.4991
17 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 45 01:20:12.6203
18 Team iSelect Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VE2 45 01:20:12.7017
19 Jim Beam Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 45 01:20:12.9143
20 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 45 01:20:25.5699
21 VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Ford Falcon FG 45 01:21:21.2774
22 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VE2 42 01:20:13.6255
23 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 42 01:20:21.9569
24 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 42 01:20:57.4836
25 Tekno Autosports Michael Patrizi Holden Commodore VE2 41 01:20:57.0708
DNF Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VE2 35 01:04:07.0409
DNF Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2  8    32:40.9065
DNF Team Hiflex Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG  3     5:08.7709

See below for the updated points standings after 11 races

1 Will Davison 1216
2 Jamie Whincup 1206
3 Mark Winterbottom 1187
4 Craig Lowndes  977
5 Shane Van Gisbergen  953
6 Lee Holdsworth  932
7 Tim Slade  879
8 Garth Tander  816
9 Fabian Coulthard  766
10 Rick Kelly  673
11 Jason Bright  672
12 Todd Kelly  648
13 Michael Caruso  597
14 Russell Ingall  596
15 Steven Johnson  596
16 James Courtney  587
17 David Reynolds  546
18 Michael Patrizi  540
19 Jonathon Webb  526
20 Steve Owen  522
21 Dean Fiore  498
22 Tony D’Alberto  425
23 Taz Douglas  396
24 Karl Reindler  381
25 Alexandre Premat  369
26 David Wall  316
27 Greg Murphy  315
28 James Moffat  302
29 David Russell   42

Comments are closed.