Tim Slade tops times in final Phillip Island practice

Tim Slade's Lucky 7 Racing Ford Falcon

Tim Slade's Lucky 7 Racing Ford Falcon

Tim Slade has set the fastest time in the final practice session of the weekend at the Phillip Island 300.

The three Stone Brothers Racing Falcons ended the 30 minutes in the top four places, with Shane van Gisbergen and Lee Holdsworth third and fourth respectively.

Todd Kelly split the Queensland based Fords in second, while fifth through 10th was filled by Will Davison, Michael Patrizi, Michael Caruso, James Courtney, Craig Lowndes and Jason Bright.

Slade’s fastest lap of 1:33.05s was almost 0.4s slower than the time set by David Reynolds in yesterday’s corresponding session, with cold and greasy track conditions preventing quicker runs.

The session featured a single red flag period when Greg Murphy spun into the gravel at the exit of the Hayshed at the nine minute mark.

Sprinkles of rain in the final minutes caught out several drivers. Jamie Whincup and James Moffat both slid off the road in separate incidents at Siberia, while Michael Caruso spun and became stranded on the outside of the circuit at the Southern Loop.

James Courtney also endured a late trip through the Turn 2 gravel having earlier posted a time good enough for eighth fastest.

A 20 minute qualifying session is set to take place at 1300 local time ahead of the 200km Race 11 at 1540.

See below for the full Practice 5 result

1 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 1:33.0515
2 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 +0:00.3739
3 SP Tools Racing Shane van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG +0:00.3957
4 IRWIN Racing Lee Holdsworth Ford Falcon FG +0:00.4438
5 Trading Post FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG +0:00.5310
6 Tekno Autosports Michael Patrizi Holden Commodore VE2 +0:00.7004
7 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 +0:00.7535
8 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2 +0:00.7963
9 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 +0:00.9647
10 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 +0:01.0186
11 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG +0:01.0261
12 Jim Beam Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG +0:01.0627
13 Team Hiflex Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG +0:01.2019
14 Orrcon Steel FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG +0:01.2716
15 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 +0:01.2832
16 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 +0:01.3764
17 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VE2 +0:01.4930
18 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VE2 +0:01.5314
19 Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2 +0:01.5996
20 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VE2 +0:01.6990
21 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 +0:01.7169
22 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 +0:01.7918
23 Team iSelect Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VE2 +0:01.9400
24 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 +0:02.0066
25 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 +0:02.1044
26 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG +0:02.4551
27 Team Norton DJR James Moffat Ford Falcon FG +0:02.5875
28 VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Ford Falcon FG +0:02.9539


Click below to read Speedcafe.com’s Phillip Island 300 Race Guide.

Comments are closed.