Briscoe becomes first Australian to take Indy 500 pole

Ryan Briscoe

Ryan Briscoe celebrates his Indianapolis 500 pole position

Ryan Briscoe has secured pole position for the Indianapolis 500, becoming the first Australian to do so.

In one of the closest sessions in history, the Team Penske driver set a 226.484mph average around the Brickyard, with Canadian James Hinchcliffe only 0.003mph off Briscoe’s speed.

Briscoe described the pole as “huge.”

“This is huge man, this is unbelievable,” Briscoe said.

“Those four laps were so good and so consistent. Getting the pole at Indy is huge. It feels good to get my first one here.”

Briscoe set a warm-up time of 223.506mph before launching into a fast 226.621mph on his first lap. While he gradually went slower on each of his next three laps, he says that his last lap was the difference.

“Lap 4 won me this pole,” Briscoe said.

“I’m proud of this team, this is a big one to win. Those four laps of Hinchtown’s it was nervous time for sure. When we saw that he didn’t get us, it was a great relief.”

Ryan Hunter-Reay will join Briscoe and Hinchcliffe on the front row of the grid.

Marco Andretti secured fourth place from Briscoe’s Australian team-mate Will Power. The third Team Penske car of Helio Castroneves will start from sixth.

Today’s qualifying set the grid for the top 24 places, with Bump Day to be held tomorrow.

The Indianapolis 500 will be held next Sunday.

Check out the video of Briscoe’s pole lap

Here is what the top 3 had to say


Pos Driver Average MPH
1 Ryan Briscoe 226.484
2 James Hinchcliffe 226.481
3 Ryan Hunter-Reay 226.240
4 Marco Andretti 225.456
5 Will Power 225.422
6 Helio Castroneves 225.172
7 Josef Newgarden 224.037
8 Tony Kanaan 224.751
9 EJ Viso 224.422
10 Rubens Barrichello 224.264
11 Alex Tagliani 224.000
12 Graham Rahal 223.959
13 Ana Beatriz 223.920
14 Charlie Kimball   223.868
15 Scott Dixon 223.684
16 Dario Franchitti 223.582
17 James Jakes   223.482
18 JR Hildebrand   223.422
19 Takuma Sato   223.392
20 Townsend Bell   223.134
21 Justin Wilson 222.929
22 Michel Jourdain   222.893
23 Simon Pagenaud   222.891
24 Sebastian Saavedra   222.811


Comments are closed.