David Reynolds fastest as FPR stakes its claim

David Reynolds

David Reynolds

Ford Performance Racing has set the benchmark in the final practice session prior to qualifying for Race 10 of the V8 Supercars Championship at Phillip Island.

The factory prepared Fords of David Reynolds, Will Davison and Mark Winterbottom ended the 30 minute hit-out first, second and fourth on the time sheets respectively.

Reynolds set the best time of 1:32.68s with just six seconds remaining to displace Davison’s earlier effort by 0.08s.

Craig Lowndes was the best of the Holden runners in third, while team-mate Jamie Whincup ended up just 16th after being baulked on what appeared set to be his fastest lap.

Lee Holdsworth, Todd Kelly, Tim Slade, Michael Patrizi, James Courtney and Dean Fiore completed the top 10.

Challenging conditions greeted the drivers for the session, with yesterday’s north-easterly wind having turned into a strong south-westerly overnight.

The wind and damp patches on the circuit from early morning rain provided some scary moments for the drivers.

Shane van Gisbergen was lucky to escape a high-speed rotation through the grass at the Hayshed in the early minutes that ended just short of the tyre wall at Lukey Heights.

A 20 minute qualifying to set the grid for Race 10 is set to commence at 1325 local time.

See below for the full Practice 4 result

1 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 1:32.6798
2 Trading Post FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:32.7635  0:00.0837
3 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 1:32.8519  0:00.1721
4 Orrcon Steel FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 1:32.8586  0:00.1788
5 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Ford Falcon FG 1:32.8679  0:00.1881
6 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:33.1232  0:00.4434
7 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 1:33.1609  0:00.4811
8 Tekno Autosports Michael Patrizi Holden Commodore VE2 1:33.1616  0:00.4818
9 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2 1:33.1646  0:00.4848
10 Jim Beam Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 1:33.2858  0:00.6060
11 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 1:33.3324  0:00.6526
12 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 1:33.3464  0:00.6666
13 SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 1:33.3788  0:00.6990
14 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VE2 1:33.5087  0:00.8289
15 Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2 1:33.5557  0:00.8759
16 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 1:33.6393  0:00.9595
17 Team Hiflex Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG 1:33.7098  0:01.0300
18 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VE2 1:33.7287  0:01.0489
19 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 1:33.8368  0:01.1570
20 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:33.9393  0:01.2595
21 Team Norton DJR James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 1:34.1213  0:01.4415
22 VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Ford Falcon FG 1:34.1720  0:01.4922
23 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.3714  0:01.6916
24 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.3868  0:01.7070
25 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.4085  0:01.7287
26 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.5041  0:01.8243
27 Team iSelect Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.5703  0:01.8905
28 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 1:35.0688  0:02.3890

Click below to read Speedcafe.com’s Phillip Island 300 Race Guide.

Comments are closed.