TeamVodafone on top in red flag punctuated third session

Jamie Whincup

Jamie Whincup

TeamVodafone team-mates Jamie Whincup and Craig Lowndes have topped the time sheets in a red flag punctuated third practice session at the Phillip Island 300.

Whincup displaced Lowndes for the top spot moments before Taz Douglas’ iSelect Commodore stopped with a suspected blown engine at the Southern Loop following a high-speed off at Turn 1.

The resulting red flag period lasted in excess of 10 minutes, leaving less than four minutes between the green and chequered flags.

Jason Bright, David Reynolds, Greg Murphy, Garth Tander, Michael Caruso, Russell Ingall, Todd Kelly and Shane van Gisbergen completed the top 10 for the session having all set their times prior to the stoppage.

Rick Kelly did not venture onto the circuit during the 20 minutes while his Jack Daniel’s Racing crew changed the engine in the #15 Holden. The car had earlier dropped a cylinder with David Russell at the wheel in the day’s second session.

A fourth and final practice session for the V8 Supercars will take place at 1455 local time.

See below for the full session result

1 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 1:33.2866
2 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 1:33.3172 0:00.0306
3 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 1:33.8526 0:00.5660
4 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 1:34.0512 0:00.7646
5 Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.1477 0:00.8611
6 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.1804 0:00.8938
7 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.2933 0:01.0067
8 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.3325 0:01.0459
9 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.4115 0:01.1249
10 SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 1:34.6026 0:01.3160
11 Orrcon Steel FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 1:34.6667 0:01.3801
12 VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Ford Falcon FG 1:34.6993 0:01.4127
13 Jim Beam Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 1:34.7775 0:01.4909
14 Trading Post FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:34.7903 0:01.5037
15 Team iSelect Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.8459 0:01.5593
16 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.9258 0:01.6392
17 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2 1:35.1208 0:01.8342
18 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Ford Falcon FG 1:35.1934 0:01.9068
19 Tony D’Alberto Racing Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG 1:35.2071 0:01.9205
20 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 1:35.2719 0:01.9853
21 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VE2 1:35.2785 0:01.9919
22 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 1:35.5070 0:02.2204
23 Tekno Autosports Michael Patrizi Holden Commodore VE2 1:35.5382 0:02.2516
24 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 1:35.5698 0:02.2832
25 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VE2 1:35.7185 0:02.4319
26 Team Norton DJR James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 1:35.8284 0:02.5418
27 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VE2 1:37.0192 0:03.7326

Click below to read’s Phillip Island 300 Race Guide.

Comments are closed.