Paul Dumbrell blitzes field in second Phillip Island session

Paul Dumbrell in the #1 TeamVodafone Commodore VE at Phillip Island

Paul Dumbrell in the #1 TeamVodafone Commodore VE at Phillip Island

Paul Dumbrell has fired a warning shot ahead of this season’s endurance races by dominating the second practice session of the day at Phillip Island in Jamie Whincup’s TeamVodafone Holden.

Dumbrell was the only driver to lap in the 1:33s bracket during the 30 minute session, which was contested by endurance co-drivers and those outside the top 50 percent in the points standings.

Dumbrell’s best of 1:33.24s left the TeamVodafone driver a full 0.9s clear of Jonathon Webb’s Tekno Autosports entry.

Russell Ingall and co-driver Christian Klien both turned laps in the Supercheap Holden, with Ingall’s best good enough for third fastest.

Greg Ritter was fourth in Michael Caruso’s car, while Dean Canto, Jason Bright, John McIntyre, Cameron McConville, Andrew Thompson and Michael Patrizi rounded out the top 10.

The cars of Craig Lowndes and Steven Johnson were the only entries not to venture onto the circuit during the session, with the two drivers currently sitting in the top 50 percent of the standings and not having their co-drivers available this weekend.

The third session of the day is scheduled for 1420 local time and will see the full field take to the track.

See below for the full practice times

1 TeamVodafone Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VE2 1:33.2419
2 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.1345 0:00.8926
3 Supercheap Auto Racing R.Ingall/C.Klien Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.2124 0:00.9705
4 Fujitsu Racing GRM Greg Ritter Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.2311 0:00.9892
5 The Bottle-O Racing Team Dean Canto Ford Falcon FG 1:34.2869 0:01.0450
6 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.3378 0:01.0959
7 Trading Post FPR Ford John McIntyre Ford Falcon FG 1:34.4663 0:01.2244
8 Holden Racing Team N.Percat/C.McConville Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.4971 0:01.2552
9 Lucky 7 Racing Andrew Thompson Ford Falcon FG 1:34.5752 0:01.3333
10 Tekno Autosports Michael Patrizi Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.7384 0:01.4965
11 Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.8305 0:01.5886
12 Jack Daniel’s Racing Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.8719 0:01.6300
13 Holden Racing Team N.Percat/C.McConville Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.9573 0:01.7154
14 SP Tools Racing Luke Youlden Ford Falcon FG 1:35.0187 0:01.7768
15 Jim Beam Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 1:35.0353 0:01.7934
16 Team Norton DJR James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 1:35.1625 0:01.9206
17 Team iSelect T.Douglas/S.Pye Holden Commodore VE2 1:35.2308 0:01.9889
18 Orrcon Steel FPR Ford Steven Richards Ford Falcon FG 1:35.3640 0:02.1221
19 Irwin Racing Craig Baird Ford Falcon FG 1:35.4690 0:02.2271
20 Tony D’Alberto Racing T.D’Alberto/D.Wood Ford Falcon FG 1:35.6769 0:02.4350
21 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 1:35.7782 0:02.5363
22 VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Ford Falcon FG 1:35.8460 0:02.6041
23 Jack Daniel’s Racing David Russell Holden Commodore VE2 1:36.0105 0:02.7686
24 Lockwood Racing David Besnard Holden Commodore VE2 1:36.0405 0:02.7986
25 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VE2 1:36.6939 0:03.4520
26 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VE2 1:50.7942 0:17.5523

Click below to read’s Phillip Island 300 Race Guide.

Comments are closed.