Final flyer puts Reynolds fastest in fourth session

David Reynolds in the #55 The Bottle O Racing Falcon

David Reynolds in the #55 The Bottle O Racing Falcon

David Reynolds has set the fastest time in the fourth and final V8 Supercars practice session of the day at Phillip Island.

The Bottle-O Racing Falcon driver was one of just five drivers able to complete a flying lap following a late red flag.

Reynolds’ time of 1:33.83s was 0.16s clear of Todd Kelly’s best effort, which was also set after the chequered flag fell.

Jason Bright’s pre-red flag time was good enough for third fastest, while Jamie Whincup and Will Davison completed the top five.

The stoppage was caused after David Wall went off the circuit at the Coates Hire Hairpin (Turn 4).

Taz Douglas’ did not make it onto the circuit during the 20 minutes after suffering a mechanical issue in the previous session.

Russell Ingall had time only for in and out laps in the closing stages after the Supercheap Auto Racing crew spent the majority of the session changing the front suspension on his Holden.

The times in the final session were not good enough to eclipse either Paul Dumbrell’s best effort of 1:32.24s from the second session or Jamie Whincup’s 1:32.29s set in the third session.

Thirty minute practice and 20 minute qualifying sessions will precede a 140km race tomorrow.

See below for the result from the fourth and final session of the day

1 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 1:33.8273
2 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:33.9882 0:00.1609
3 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.0943 0:00.2670
4 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.1962 0:00.3689
5 Trading Post FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:34.3350 0:00.5077
6 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.3902 0:00.5629
7 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 1:34.4894 0:00.6621
8 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.5220 0:00.6947
9 Jim Beam Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 1:34.5758 0:00.7485
10 Orrcon Steel FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 1:34.6133 0:00.7860
11 Tekno Autosports Michael Patrizi Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.8045 0:00.9772
12 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 1:34.8219 0:00.9946
13 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.9085 0:01.0812
14 SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 1:34.9751 0:01.1478
15 Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2 1:35.1379 0:01.3106
16 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Ford Falcon FG 1:35.1730 0:01.3457
17 Tony D’Alberto Racing Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG 1:35.2402 0:01.4129
18 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2 1:35.2462 0:01.4189
19 VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Ford Falcon FG 1:35.5385 0:01.7112
20 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VE2 1:35.6805 0:01.8532
21 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VE2 1:35.7244 0:01.8971
22 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 1:35.7486 0:01.9213
23 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 1:35.7929 0:01.9656
24 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:35.8309 0:02.0036
25 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VE2 1:35.9154 0:02.0881
26 Team Norton DJR James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 1:36.4674 0:02.6401
27 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 –       

Click below to read’s Phillip Island 300 Race Guide.

Comments are closed.