Jack Daniel’s Racing confirms endurance line-up

Tim Blanchard (left) and David Russell

Tim Blanchard (left) and David Russell

Jack Daniel’s Racing has confirmed that David Russell and Tim Blanchard will join the team for this year’s Sandown and Bathurst endurance races.

Russell, who drives in the squad’s Dunlop Series team under the Dreamtime Racing banner, will share the #15 entry with Rick Kelly, while Blanchard will join Todd Kelly in car #7.

Both drivers were a part of Kelly Racing’s endurance effort last year, with Russell seeing the continuity as a strength this time around.

“It’s great to be back in the JD garage that is for sure,” said Russell, who co-drove with Todd Kelly last year.

“It’s good to have that continuity. I have been in the cars before, but obviously there’s a switch this year to partner Rick which is something I am relishing.”

Russell and Blanchard are among 25 co-drivers set to turn laps at Phillip Island tomorrow in the lead-up to this weekend’s Phillip Island 300.

“This weekend is all about getting a base setup for Todd for the rest of the meeting,” said Blanchard, who currently sits fifth in the 2012 Dunlop Series points standings, where he drives a Matthew White Motorsport prepared Ford.

“It also gives me the opportunity to get used to driving one of the Kelly Racing cars against a full field of V8s.”

Although yet to be confirmed, Owen Kelly and Daniel Gaunt are expected to complete the four-car Kelly Racing squad’s endurance roster, and will both suit-up for the team at Phillip Island tomorrow.

See below for the final Phillip Island entry list

# Sponsor Name Driver Name Additional Driver Additional Driver Model
1 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Paul Dumbrell VE II
2 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Nick Percat VE II
3 Team Hiflex Tony D’Alberto Dale Wood FG
4 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Craig Baird Luke Youlden FG
5 Orrcon Steel FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Steven Richards John McIntyre FG
6 Tradingpost FPR Ford Will Davison Steven Richards John McIntyre FG
7 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Tim Blanchard David Russell VE II
8 Team BOC Jason Bright Andrew Jones David Besnard VE II
9 SP Tools Racing Shane van Gisbergen Craig Baird Luke Youlden FG
11 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Daniel Gaunt Owen Kelly VE II
12 Jim Beam Racing Dean Fiore FG
14 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Andrew Jones David Besnard VE II
15 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly David Russell Tim Blanchard VE II
17 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson FG
18 Team Norton DJR James Moffat Alex Davison FG
19 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Scott McLaughlin VE II
21 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Chris Pither VE II
22 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Cameron McConville VE II
30 Team iSelect Taz Douglas Scott Pye VE II
33 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Greg Ritter VE II
34 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Jack Perkins VE II
47 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Andrew Thompson FG
49 V.I.P. Petfoods Steve Owen Paul Morris FG
51 Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Owen Kelly Daniel Gaunt VE II
55 The Bottle-O FPR Ford David Reynolds Dean Canto FG
66 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Christian Klien VE II
91 Tekno Autosports Michael Patrizi Jonny Reid VE II
888 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Paul Dumbrell VE II

See below for Speedcafe.com’s Phillip Island 300 Race Guide

Comments are closed.