Garth Tander earns Race 7 pole at Barbagallo

Holden Racing Team's Garth Tander will start from pole in Race 7 at Barbagallo Raceway

Holden Racing Team's Garth Tander will start from pole in Race 7 at Barbagallo Raceway

Garth Tander has scored his second Armor All Pole Award for the 2012 season in an exciting qualifying session at the Trading Post Perth Challenge

A slowly drying circuit saw a flurry of fast times in the final minutes, with Tander setting his best of 1:02.20s after the chequered flag fell.

Jason Bright, Jamie Whincup, Jonathon Webb, Mark Winterbottom, David Reynolds, Fabian Coulthard, James Courtney, Will Davison and Lee Holdsworth rounded out the top 10.

Webb sat atop the time sheets for a large portion of the session having become the first to break into the 1:02s bracket after eight minutes.

The Tekno Commodore driver’s time lasted until Fabian Coulthard lowered the marker to 1:02.47s with six minutes remaining.

Winterbottom was the next to improve by recording a 1:02.38s with 30s to go, before Bright and eventually Tander stole away the top spot.

The quickest times in the session were set on slick tyres, despite light rain falling in the closing minutes.

Frenchman Alexandre Premat will start Race 7 from 25th position after a difficult session that saw the Fujitsu Racing GRM Commodore surf through the Turn 6 sand trap in the early going.

Race 7, to be held over 50 laps of the Barbagallo circuit, will commence at 1405 local time. More rain is expected throughout the afternoon.

Listen below to Garth Tander’s thoughts after the session
Garth Tander Perth pole Saturday 2012 by Beazley

See below for the Race 7 qualifying result

1 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 1:02.1974
2 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 1:02.2725 0:00.0751
3 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 1:02.3046 0:00.1072
4 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VE2 1:02.3631 0:00.1657
5 Orrcon Steel FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 1:02.3770 0:00.1796
6 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 1:02.4301 0:00.2327
7 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 1:02.4711 0:00.2737
8 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2 1:02.5026 0:00.3052
9 Trading Post FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:02.5549 0:00.3575
10 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Ford Falcon FG 1:02.5972 0:00.3998
11 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 1:02.8920 0:00.6946
12 VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Ford Falcon FG 1:02.9216 0:00.7242
13 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:02.9493 0:00.7519
14 SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 1:02.9765 0:00.7791
15 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:02.9903 0:00.7929
16 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 1:03.0088 0:00.8114
17 Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2 1:03.0675 0:00.8701
18 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 1:03.1689 0:00.9715
19 Jim Beam Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 1:03.2129 0:01.0155
20 Team Norton DJR James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 1:03.2521 0:01.0547
21 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 1:03.2670 0:01.0696
22 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 1:03.3093 0:01.1119
23 Tony D’Alberto Racing Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG 1:03.4322 0:01.2348
24 Team iSelect Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VE2 1:03.5773 0:01.3799
25 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VE2 1:03.6266 0:01.4292
26 Tekno Autosports Michael Patrizi Holden Commodore VE2 1:03.6371 0:01.4397
27 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VE2 1:03.8028 0:01.6054
28 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 1:03.8624 0:01.6650

See below for’s Trading Post Perth Challenge Race Guide

Comments are closed.