Scott Pye takes maiden Dunlop Series race win

Scott Pye at Barbagallo Raceway

Scott Pye at Barbagallo Raceway. PIC: Jason Sutton (Facebook)

Scott Pye has turned pole position into his maiden Dunlop Series race victory at a wet Barbagallo Raceway

The Monster Commodore driver led for the entire race, which was called three circuits short of its scheduled 18 laps due to time constraints.

Ashley Walsh fended off Scott McLaughlin to take second, while Chaz Mostert, Luke Youlden, Tim Blanchard, Andrew Jones, Nick Percat, Daniel Jilesen and Rodney Jane rounded out the top 10.

The race ran relatively trouble free despite the slippery conditions. Aaron McGill was the only competitor to strike trouble after a gamble to start on slicks saw the #75 Falcon spin into the Turn 6 sand trap on the opening lap.

McGill’s incident saw the Safety Car lead the field for four laps.

Pye jumped away to a 1.3s lead on the restart lap, and went relatively unchallenged for the duration.

Percat restarted third behind Pye and Walsh, but quickly found himself losing places as he struggled for grip in the Coates Hire Commodore. McLaughlin, Youlden, Mostert, Blanchard and Jones all made their way past Percat over the remaining laps.

Daniel Jilesen eventually came out on top in a tight scrap for ninth, while Rodney Jane secured the Race 2 pole with 10th.

Race 2 will take place at 1640 local time.

See below for the full Race 1 result

1 Triple Eight Race Engineering Scott Pye Holden Commodore VE 15 19:13.3082
2 Simpro Racing Ashley Walsh Ford Falcon BF 15 19:14.9549
3 Fujitsu Racing Scott McLaughlin Ford Falcon FG 15 19:15.4121
4 Ford Performance Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG 15 19:16.6471
5 Proformance West Luke Youlden Ford Falcon BF 15 19:19.4014
6 Jaylec Automotive Electrical Tim Blanchard Ford Falcon FG 15 19:23.9162
7 Team BOC Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE 15 19:27.2733
8 Coates Hire Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VE2 15 19:30.5514
9 Matt Stone Racing Daniel Jilesen Ford Falcon BF 15 19:31.3551
10 Bob Jane T-Marts Rodney Jane Ford Falcon FG 15 19:31.8807
11 DT Racing David Russell Holden Commodore VE 15 19:33.2359
12 Bob Jane T-Marts/Sitech George Miedecke Ford Falcon BF 15 19:33.6278
13 Minda Motorsport Elliot Barbour Holden Commodore VE2 15 19:34.3592
14 Greg Murphy Racing Marcus Zukanovic Holden Commodore VE 15 19:34.8351
15 Go Karts Go Aust Drew Russell Ford Falcon BF 15 19:38.9616
16 Go Karts Go Aust Aaren Russell Ford Falcon BF 15 19:40.4800
17 GB Galvanizing/Wilson Tech Dale Wood Holden Commodore VE 15 19:43.0555
18 DT Racing Cameron Waters Holden Commodore VE 15 19:43.8489
19 NDD Geoff Emery Holden Commodore VE 15 19:44.2456
20 Formula Tech/Interquip Racing Brett Stewart Holden Commodore VE 15 19:52.7884
21 Earth Ex Matt Hansen Holden Commodore VE 15 19:56.5842
22 Warrin Mining Adam Wallis Holden Commodore VE 15 20:00.0619
23 Pacific Hoists Nandi Kiss Holden Commodore VE 15 20:04.1867
24 Carrington Equipment Michael Hector Ford Falcon BF 15 20:18.0735
DNF Solo Resource Recovery Aaron McGill Ford Falcon BF  5 15:59.6787

Click below to read’s V8 Race Guide.

Comments are closed.