Nick Percat takes first Dunlop Series race win

Nick Percat

Nick Percat

Nick Percat has added a Dunlop Series race victory to his resume in the reverse top 10 grid Race 2 at Barbagallo.

The 2011 Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 winner passed pole-sitter Rodney Jane on the eighth lap of the race and was not again headed.

Matthew White Motorsport team-mates Tim Blanchard and Luke Youlden took second and third respectively, while Scott McLaughlin, Chaz Mostert, Rodney Jane, Ashley Walsh, David Russell, Daniel Jilesen and Scott Pye rounded out the top 10.

The race was punctuated by two early Safety Car periods. The first was called on the opening lap when a stalled Andrew Jones was clipped by Dale Wood – stranding both Commodores on the circuit.

The full-course yellows flew again shortly after the restart as Matthew Hansen and Michael Hector simultaneously beached their entries in the Turn 1 sand.

Fortuitously, Percat managed to pass Jane between the incident occuring and the Safety Car being called.

The Coates Hire Commodore reset the fastest lap of the race on three consecutive occasions following the restart, eventually heading home Blanchard by 3.65s.

Jane’s team-mate George Miedecke endured a wild race, with the second of the Sonic Motor Racing Services Falcons spearing off at the first corner, before eventually chalking up a DNF.

Mostert continues to lead the points standings after five races, with McLaughlin, Percat, Youlden and Pye rounding out the top five.

The third and final race of the weekend for the Dunlop Series will take place at 1305 tomorrow.

McLaughlin and Pye will share the front-row under the combined points format, ahead of Walsh, Youlden, Mostert, Blanchard, Percat, Jane, Jilesen and Russell.

CLICK HERE for’s Race 1 report and results from earlier today

See below for the full Race 2 result

1 Coates Hire Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VE2 18 24:03.2555
2 Jaylec Automotive Electrical Tim Blanchard Ford Falcon FG 18 24:06.9087
3 Proformance West Luke Youlden Ford Falcon BF 18 24:08.4743
4 Fujitsu Racing Scott McLaughlin Ford Falcon FG 18 24:08.8925
5 Ford Performance Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG 18 24:09.1733
6 Bob Jane T-Marts Rodney Jane Ford Falcon FG 18 24:11.0095
7 Simpro Racing Ashley Walsh Ford Falcon BF 18 24:11.3311
8 DT Racing David Russell Holden Commodore VE 18 24:11.9756
9 Matt Stone Racing Daniel Jilesen Ford Falcon BF 18 24:13.6018
10 Triple Eight Race Engineering Scott Pye Holden Commodore VE 18 24:14.3309
11 Greg Murphy Racing Marcus Zukanovic Holden Commodore VE 18 24:16.2237
12 Minda Motorsport Elliot Barbour Holden Commodore VE2 18 24:17.9646
13 Go Karts Go Aust Drew Russell Ford Falcon BF 18 24:18.4295
14 NDD Geoff Emery Holden Commodore VE 18 24:19.0422
15 Go Karts Go Aust Aaren Russell Ford Falcon BF 18 24:20.0576
16 DT Racing Cameron Waters Holden Commodore VE 18 24:20.4525
17 Formula Tech/Interquip Racing Brett Stewart Holden Commodore VE 18 24:24.3456
18 Warrin Mining Adam Wallis Holden Commodore VE 18 24:30.0286
19 Pacific Hoists Nandi Kiss Holden Commodore VE 18 24:38.3726
DNF Bob Jane T-Marts/Sitech George Miedecke Ford Falcon BF 13 24:54.8285
DNF Earth Ex Matt Hansen Holden Commodore VE  8 15:56.8126
DNF Carrington Equipment Michael Hector Ford Falcon BF  8 16:55.5670
DNF GB Galvanizing/Wilson Tech Dale Wood Holden Commodore VE
DNF Team BOC Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE

Comments are closed.