Reid holds on for victory in Race 2 at Manfeild

Jonny Reid has won Race 2 at Manfeild

Jonny Reid, pictured here on a wet track yesterday, has won Race 2 at Manfeild

Jonny Reid has won a red-flag punctuated second V8 SuperTourers Series race of the weekend at Manfeild Raceway.

The International Motorsport Ford driver repeated his Saturday performance by leading every lap of the race.

Reid eventually led home Andy Knight, Greg Murphy and Steven Richards, who waged a thrilling battle for second in the closing laps.

Andy Booth, Ant Pedersen, John McIntyre, Andre Heimgartner, Craig Baird and Kayne Scott rounded out the top 10.

The race was run in two parts after a major incident involving the Racing Projects Falcon of Colin Corkery brought out the red flags on Lap 17 of 25.

Corkery spun into the inside wall on the front straight after a touch form the Holden of Heimgartner.

CLICK HERE for’s previous story on the red flag stoppage

The restart set up a short dash to the flag, which saw Reid jump to an early lead as Murphy, Knight, Richards, Booth and McIntyre traded places behind.

It was a fraught race for McIntyre, who lost places by running wide at both Turn 1 and Turn 6 prior to the red flag, before being shuffled back into the pack once again in the frantic final laps.

The Safety Car had earlier made an appearance when Pedersen spun his Falcon at Turn 1 on just the third lap of the race.

Also to find trouble early at Turn 1 was Eddie Bell, who was spun by Booth before being collected by a hapless Paul Manuell.

The third and final V8 SuperTourers race of the weekend is scheduled to take place at 1445 local time.

See below for the Race 2 result

Pos Name Car Laps Total time
1 Jonny Reid Ford Falcon FG 25 32:32.358
2 Andy Knight Ford Falcon FG 25 32:33.849
3 Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE 25 32:34.102
4 Steven Richards Ford Falcon FG 25 32:34.537
5 Andy Booth Holden Commodore VE 25 32:35.371
6 Ant Pedersen Ford Falcon FG 25 32:35.899
7 John McIntyre Ford Falcon FG 25 32:38.314
8 Andre Heimgartner Holden Commodore VE 25 32:42.219
9 Craig Baird Ford Falcon FG 25 32:43.466
10 Kayne Scott Holden Commodore VE 25 32:43.711
11 Richard Moore Holden Commodore VE 25 32:50.983
12 Eddie Bell Ford Falcon FG 16 32:49.539
DNF Colin Corkery Ford Falcon FG 15 18:05.265
DNF Paul Manuell Holden Commodore VE 6 7:41.400

Comments are closed.