Power sets lap record to score pole in Brazil

Will Power has collected another IndyCar career pole position

Will Power has collected another IndyCar career pole position

Will Power has set a qualifying lap record on his way to pole position for the Itaipava São Paulo Indy 300 at Interlagos in Brazil.

Power’s pole lap, a 1m21.4045s, gave Team Penske its fourth consecutive pole of the season.

Power posted his lap with three minutes left in the Firestone Fast Six shootout to claim his second-consecutive pole start and his 26th pole of his IndyCar career.

“It’s good to put the Verizon Chevrolet on the pole,” said Power.

“It was satisfying, especially knowing that Honda seems to have an advantage on the straights at the moment, so being on pole is a good start to the weekend. I have a feeling it’s going to be wet, or maybe wet-dry for the race so it will mix things up a lot.”

Rival Dario Franchitti will start besides Power on the front-row of the grid, setting a time just 0.04s slower than Power.

Franchitti’s Target Chip Ganassi Racing team-mate Scott Dixon had an incident during the Fast Six, but managed to take third, ahead of James Hinchcliffe – the only driver to qualify for the Firestone Fast Six in all four races.

Andretti Autosport team-mate Ryan Hunter-Reay qualified fifth and Justin Wilson of Dale Coyne Racing will start sixth.

Rubens Barrichello, competing in his first IZOD IndyCar Series race in his hometown, missed advancing to the second round by 0.0243s and will start 13th.

Australian Team Penske driver Ryan Briscoe will start from 10th.


QUALIFYING: São Paulo Indy 300

Position Driver Engine Time
1 Will Power Chevrolet 1:21.4045
2 Dario Franchitti Honda 1:21.4485
3 Scott Dixon Honda 1:21.8545
4 James Hinchcliffe, Chevrolet 1:21.9956
5 Ryan Hunter-Reay Chevrolet 1:22.2408
6 Justin Wilson Honda 1:22.2681
7 Graham Rahal Honda 1:21.8033
8 Mike Conway Honda 1:21.8122
9 Josef Newgarden Honda 1:21.8128
10 Ryan Briscoe Chevrolet 1:21.8495
11 Marco Andretti Chevrolet 1:21.8498
12 Tony Kanaan Chevrolet 1:22.5210
13 Rubens Barrichello Chevrolet 1:22.3939
14 EJ Viso Chevrolet 1:22.1404
15 JR Hildebrand Chevrolet 1:22.4321
16 Charlie Kimball Honda 1:22.1973
17 Simon Pagenaud Honda 1:22.4354
18 James Jakes Honda 1:22.3840
19 Sebastien Bourdais Lotus 1:23.1331
20 Helio Castroneves Chevrolet 1:22.4143
21 Ana Beatriz Chevrolet 1:23.2692
22 Ed Carpenter Chevrolet 1:22.9424
23 Simona de Silvestro Lotus 1:23.6762
24 Oriol Servia Lotus 1:23.4509
25 Katherine Legge Lotus 1:24.6042
26 Takuma Sato Honda No Time


Check what the top 3 had to say

Comments are closed.