Greg Murphy strikes back in Manfeild Race 3

Greg Murphy

Greg Murphy

Greg Murphy has fought off a determined John McIntyre to win the third and final race for the V8 SuperTourers Series round at Manfeild.

Starting on the outside of the front-row following third place finishes in the opening two races of the weekend, Murphy was able to hang on around the outside of pole-sitter Jonny Reid at the first corner, before eventually taking the lead at Turn 3.

The race was one of tyre conservation thereafter, with the entire field having started on wet tyres following a shower between races

McIntyre passed Reid and early fast-man Andy Knight in the opening seven laps, but found himself in excess of 6s adrift of Murphy by the race’s halfway point.

The JMR Falcon came alive in the closing however, with the final margin standing at 0.2s after McIntyre closed by a second a lap over the last four tours.

Richard Moore stormed his way through from 10th on the grid to finish on the tail of the leading trio in third, while Reid, Steven Richards, Kayne Scott, Craig Baird, Ant Pedersen and Knight rounded out the top 10.

Andy Booth was the only driver to pit for slicks during the race, with the Woodstock Holden finishing 12th after losing a lap in the changeover process.

Booth ended the race with the fastest lap for his troubles – a 1:09.75s effort 2.4s quicker than the Murphy’s best.

The Race 3 result was enough to ensure that Reid took the overall round victory. The International Motorsport driver leads the points standings from fellow Ford driver McIntyre after three rounds.

See below for the full Race 3 result

Pos Name Car Laps Total time
1 Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE 30 36:47.994
2 John McIntyre Ford Falcon FG 30 36:48.210
3 Richard Moore Holden Commodore VE 30 36:49.816
4 Paul Manuell Holden Commodore VE 30 36:53.817
5 Jonny Reid Ford Falcon FG 30 37:00.954
6 Steven Richards Ford Falcon FG 30 37:09.166
7 Kayne Scott Holden Commodore VE 30 37:09.636
8 Craig Baird Ford Falcon FG 30 37:11.582
9 Ant Pedersen Ford Falcon FG 30 37:17.507
10 Andy Knight Ford Falcon FG 30 37:27.786
11 Eddie Bell Ford Falcon FG 30 37:29.992
12 Andy Booth Holden Commodore VE 29 37:17.443
13 Andre Heimgartner Holden Commodore VE 29 37:26.616

Series points after Round 3

Pos Driver Pts
1. Jonny Reid 1626
2. John McIntyre 1538
3. Greg Murphy 1264
4. Kayne Scott 1252
5. Ant Pedersen 1240
6. Craig Baird 1153
7. Andy Booth 1038
8. Steven Richards 1014
9. Eddie Bell 883
10. Andy Knight 860
11. Andre Heimgartner 768
12. Fabian Coulthard 757
13. Richard Moore 717
14. Paul Manuell 676
15. Scott McLaughlin 585
16. Geoff Emery 434
17. Colin Corkery 293

Comments are closed.