Casey Stoner delighted with Spanish MotoGP win

Casey Stoner opened his 2012 MotoGP account at Jerez

Casey Stoner has won his first MotoGP of the year winning the Spanish Grand Prix at Jerez in a race he has called one of the greatest of his career.

The victory is the Australian’s first win at the Jerez circuit and 34th of his career and he is just four points behind Jorge Lorenzo in the championship chase.

Stoner beat home championship leader Jorge Lorenzo on a Yamaha, with Repsol Honda team-mate Dani Pedrosa in third just ahead of Cal Crutchlow on the Tech 3 Yamaha.

Stoner was forced to work for his victory at both ends of the race. Starting fifth, the two-time world champion was involved in a fantastic battle with a large group of riders off the start. He passed Pedrosa on the third lap and cleared out.

However, his lead disappeared with nine laps to run as Lorenzo applied plenty of pressure. Three laps from the end the Spaniard looked set for a pass on the final corner, but Stoner held him out and then put a small gap on the Yamaha rider through to the finish.

“Hats off to the team as they turned it around for me today and it was probably one of the greatest races of my career,” said Stoner.

“We were definitely struggling with the set-up and had to find something for the race today.

“The warm-up was wet and we decided to skip that and gamble on the changes we made would be good in what we hoped would be dry conditions for the race.

“We lost a little bit of grip in the rear, but we got a lot better feeling in the front. For me that is what this track is mainly about, getting that front through the turns and it was a really fantastic race for us.”


RESULTS : Spanish Grand Prix – Jerez





1 Casey Stoner Repsol Honda Team Honda
2 Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha Factory Racing Yamaha
3 Dani Pedrosa Repsol Honda Team Honda
4 Cal Crutchlow Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha
5 Andrea Dovizioso Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha
6 Alvaro Bautista San Carlo Honda Gresini Honda
7 Stefan Bradl LCR Honda MotoGP Honda
8 Nicky Hayden Ducati Team Ducati
9 Valentino Rossi Ducati Team Ducati
10 Hector Barbera Pramac Racing Team Ducati
11 Ben Spies Yamaha Factory Racing Yamaha
12 Aleix Espargaro Power Electronics Aspar ART
13 Danilo Petrucci Came IodaRacing Project Ioda
14 Mattia Pasini Speed Master ART
15 Ivan Silva Avintia Blusens BQR
16 Colin Edwards NGM Mobile Forward Racing Suter
17 Karel Abraham Cardion AB Motoracing Ducati
DNF Randy de Puniet Power Electronics Aspar ART
DNF James Ellison Paul Bird Motorsport ART
DNF Michele Pirro San Carlo Honda Gresini FTR
DNF Yonny Hernandez Avintia Blusens BQR





1 Jorge Lorenzo 45
1 Casey Stoner -4
3 Dani Pedrosa -9
4 Cal Crutchlow -19
5 Andrea Dovizioso -23
6 Alvaro Bautista -26
7 Nicky Hayden -27
8 Stefan Bradl -28
9 Valentino Rossi -32
10 Hector Barbera -32
11 Ben Spies -35
12 Aleix Espargaro -40
13 Colin Edwards -41
14 Danilo Petrucci -42
15 Randy de Puniet -42
16 Mattia Pasini -43
17 Yonny Hernandez -43
18 Ivan Silva -44


Comments are closed.