Winterbottom holds off Whincup in Hamilton thriller

Mark Winterbottom

Mark Winterbottom

Mark Winterbottom has held off Jamie Whincup in a thrilling finish to win the final ITM400 Hamilton.

Whincup closed a 3s margin over the final 10 laps to challenge the Orrcon Ford – the two cars making contact on the first two corners of the last lap before Winterbottom edged away to win by 0.7s.

The victory is Winterbottom’s first of the season  and comes in his 250th V8 Supercars Championship race start.

Will Davison came home 14s further adrift in third while Craig Lowndes, Fabian Coulthard, Lee Holdsworth, David Reynolds, Tony D’Alberto, Todd Kelly and Shane van Gisbergen rounded out the top 10.

Davison now leads Whincup by 21 points after six races with Winterbottom a further 161 points adrift in third.

Starting second on the grid, Winterbottom led pole-sitter Davison away at the start and was not headed outside of the pitstop cycles.

Davison ran second for the first half of the race before losing the place to a charging Whincup.

Repaired following its qualifying crash, the TeamVodafone Commodore dropped to seventh with a bad start before steadily moving back up through the field.

The race’s one and only Safety Car was called on Lap 18 due to debris from Garth Tander’s Holden Racing Team Commodore.

Tander clipped the Turn 6 apex tyre bundle while diving to the inside of D’Alberto as the pair battled for sixth place. Yesterday’s podium finisher eventually came home 26th after a lengthy stop for repairs.

Michael Caruso fared little better, with the Fujitsu Racing GRM Commodore finishing 25th after losing eight laps repairing damage incurred after receiving a tap from James Moffat.

Caruso’s team-mate Alexandre Premat was also in the wars – the Frenchman’s day including 23 kerb hopping infringements for a total of three drive-through penalties.

The Turn 4 chicane was also the downfall of Steve Owen, with a promising weekend for the VIP Petfoods Falcon ending with heavy contact against the exit wall on Lap 14.

The 2012 V8 Supercars Championship will continue in two weeks time with the Trading Post Perth Challenge at Barbagallo.

See below for the full Race 6 result

1 Orrcon Steel FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 59 01:26:13.9903
2 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 59 01:26:14.7150
3 Trading Post FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 59 01:26:27.9419
4 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 59 01:26:37.2485
5 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 59 01:26:38.3436
6 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Ford Falcon FG 59 01:26:40.9840
7 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 59 01:26:51.4202
8 Tony D’Alberto Racing Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG 59 01:26:56.1418
9 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 59 01:27:00.1009
10 SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 59 01:27:04.7151
11 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 59 01:27:05.6219
12 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 59 01:27:07.3240
13 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VE2 59 01:27:07.4173
14 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 59 01:27:13.1042
15 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 59 01:27:13.3620
16 Jim Beam Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 59 01:27:13.5177
17 Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2 59 01:27:13.6894
18 Team Norton DJR James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 59 01:27:25.1527
19 Team iSelect Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VE2 59 01:27:30.5758
20 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 59 01:27:34.7478
21 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 59 01:27:41.1996
22 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2 59 01:27:46.8229
23 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VE2 58 01:26:30.2979
24 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VE2 58 01:28:03.7386
25 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 51 01:27:19.3473
26 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 47 01:26:31.6680
DNF Tekno Autosports Michael Patrizi Holden Commodore VE2 48 01:11:50.1444
DNF VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Ford Falcon FG 13    19:40.2938

See below for the updated points standings

1 Will Davison 846
2 Jamie Whincup 825
3 Mark Winterbottom 657
4 Craig Lowndes 557
5 Lee Holdsworth 555
6 Shane Van Gisbergen 549
7 Garth Tander 524
8 Fabian Coulthard 510
9 Tim Slade 489
10 Rick Kelly 453
11 Todd Kelly 429
12 Steven Johnson 378
13 Michael Caruso 354
14 Steve Owen 348
15 Russell Ingall 336
16 Tony D’Alberto 314
17 Dean Fiore 309
18 James Courtney 306
19 David Reynolds 296
20 Michael Patrizi 276
21 Jason Bright 261
22 Alexandre Premat 258
23 Taz Douglas 240
24 Jonathon Webb 234
25 James Moffat 222
26 David Wall 207
27 Karl Reindler 204
28 Greg Murphy  87
29 David Russell  42

Comments are closed.