FPR duo share front-row as Whincup crashes

The FPR crew celebrate locking-out the front row in NZ

Ford Performance Racing duo Will Davison and Mark Winterbottom will share the front-row of the grid for Race 6 of the V8 Supercars Championship in Hamilton.

Both drivers set their fastest times in the final three minutes of the session, with Davison eclipsing his team-mate by just 0.01s.

Jamie Whincup ended the session third on the time sheets despite spending the last five minutes in the Turn 6 run-off area.

The TeamVodafone Commodore driver made significant right-front contact with the wall after losing control on the exit of the Turn 4 chicane.

The car is expected to be repaired in time for this afternoon’s race, which is scheduled to take place at 1505 local time.

Craig Lowndes, David Reynolds, Tony D’Alberto, Garth Tander, Fabian Coulthard, James Moffat and Lee Holdsworth rounded out the top 10.

Last year’s Race 6 winner Shane van Gisbergen will start 14th after failing to reproduce his qualifying form from yesterday, while countryman Greg Murphy’s difficult weekend continued with a 24th placed run.

Alexandre Premat’s Fujitsu Racing GRM Commodore returned to the circuit in qualifying after being repaired from its Race 5 accident overnight. The Frenchman will start at the tail of the field in 28th.

Listen below to what Will Davison had to say about his pole lap

Will Davison Sunday pole NZ 2012 by Beazley

See below for the full qualifying result

1 Trading Post FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:21.9712
2 Orrcon Steel FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 1:21.9858 0:00.0146
3 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 1:21.9914 0:00.0202
4 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.1295 0:00.1583
5 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 1:22.1684 0:00.1972
6 Tony D’Alberto Racing Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG 1:22.2423 0:00.2711
7 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.3789 0:00.4077
8 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.4135 0:00.4423
9 Team Norton DJR James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 1:22.4538 0:00.4826
10 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Ford Falcon FG 1:22.4970 0:00.5258
11 VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Ford Falcon FG 1:22.5042 0:00.5330
12 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.5156 0:00.5444
13 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 1:22.5367 0:00.5655
14 SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 1:22.5528 0:00.5816
15 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.6571 0:00.6859
16 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.6739 0:00.7027
17 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.6950 0:00.7238
18 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 1:22.7021 0:00.7309
19 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.9390 0:00.9678
20 Tekno Autosports Michael Patrizi Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.9901 0:01.0189
21 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 1:23.0240 0:01.0528
22 Jim Beam Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 1:23.1494 0:01.1782
23 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 1:23.1999 0:01.2287
24 Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2 1:23.2946 0:01.3234
25 Team iSelect Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VE2 1:23.3398 0:01.3686
26 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 1:23.4898 0:01.5186
27 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VE2 1:23.7206 0:01.7494
28 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VE2 1:23.7991 0:01.8279

Comments are closed.