Garth Tander storms to Race 5 pole position

Garth Tander

Garth Tander

Garth Tander has taken pole position for Race 5 of the V8 Supercars Championship at the ITM400 Hamilton.

Tander was the eighth driver on the circuit in the Top 10 Shootout, and managed to eclipse Shane van Gisbergen’s previous benchmark by just 0.04s.

The Holden Racing Team Commodore touched the walls at the exit of Turns 1 and 6 before stopping the clocks at 1:22.40s.

Van Gisbergen will share the front-row with Tander after the final two runners Craig Lowndes and Will Davison both made mistakes on their laps.

Lowndes found himself with significant rear locking at both Turns 1 and 2 and will start eighth, while Davison fared just two positions better after enduring an oversteer moment at Turn 3.

Garth Tander with the Armor All Pole Award

Garth Tander with the Armor All Pole Award

David Reynolds, Jamie Whincup, Davison, Steve Owen and Steven Johnson will fill third to seventh on the gird, with James Moffat and Mark Winterbottom ninth and 10th respectively.

Both Moffat and Winterbottom triggered the electronic sensor in the Turn 4 chicane during their laps. The Orrcon Steel FPR Falcon driver decided to abort his lap entirely after the breach.

Race 5 of the 2012 V8 Supercars Championship will kick-off at 1505 local time.

The 200km race will see each car required to use both the soft and hard compound tyres.

CLICK HERE for’s qualifying report from earlier today

Listen below for Garth Tander’s comments on taking his second Armor All Pole Award of 2012

See below for the combined qualifying and Top 10 Shootout result

1  Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.3968
2  SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 1:22.4346 0:00.0378
3  The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 1:22.5075 0:00.1107
4  TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.6050 0:00.2082
5  VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Ford Falcon FG 1:22.8748 0:00.4780
6  Trading Post FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:22.9017 0:00.5049
7  Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 1:23.3308 0:00.9340
8  TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 1:25.9050 0:03.5082
9  Team Norton DJR James Moffat Ford Falcon FG
10  Orrcon Steel FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG
11  Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Ford Falcon FG 1:22.3812 0:00.5663
12  Tony D’Alberto Racing Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG 1:22.4124 0:00.5975
13  Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.4323 0:00.6174
14  Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.5330 0:00.7181
15  Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.6396 0:00.8247
16  Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.6574 0:00.8425
17  Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.8369 0:01.0220
18  Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.8786 0:01.0637
19  Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.9056 0:01.0907
20  Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 1:22.9210 0:01.1061
21  Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.9507 0:01.1358
22  Tekno Autosports Michael Patrizi Holden Commodore VE2 1:23.0538 0:01.2389
23  Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VE2 1:23.0662 0:01.2513
24  Jim Beam Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 1:23.1030 0:01.2881
25  Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 1:23.2122 0:01.3973
26  Team iSelect Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VE2 1:23.2146 0:01.3997
27  Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 1:23.2378 0:01.4229
28  Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VE2 1:23.9033 0:02.0884

Comments are closed.