Davison extends points lead with Hamilton victory

Race 5 winner Will Davison

Race 5 winner Will Davison

Will Davison has extended his lead in the 2012 V8 Supercars Championship by taking out the opening leg of the ITM400 Hamilton.

The Trading Post FPR Falcon driver jumped from sixth on the grid to second in the opening two corners of the race, before eventually taking the lead from pole-sitter Garth Tander on Lap 27 of 59.

Davison survived a Safety Car restart with 16 laps to go to beat home Jamie Whincup by 2.53s, with Tander, Craig Lowndes, Rick Kelly, Steve Owen, James Courtney, Michael Caruso, Fabian Coulthard and Russell Ingall rounding out the top 10.

The victory is the ninth of Davison’s career and the first for both driver and team on the streets of Hamilton. The 29-year-old now holds a 30 point lead over Whincup in the championship standings, with Mark Winterbottom another 180 points adrift in third.

The race began in chaotic circumstances, with front-row starter Shane van Gisbergen leading into Turn 1 before a lock-up and a bump from David Reynolds saw the SP Tools Falcon shuffled back into the pack.

More drama unfolded at Turn 2, where Reynolds understeered wide, allowing pole-sitter Tander back into the lead.

Van Gisbergen’s chances effectively ended when contact with Jamie Whincup on the exit of Turn 2 bent the local hope’s steering.

Will Davison has won three of the first five races this season

Will Davison has won three of the first five races this season

Tander led Davison through the first round of pitstops but was unable to resist the advances of the points leader as the middle stint progressed.

Davison had built a near 4s lead over Tander once the second stops had been completed. The margin then evaporated when the Safety Car was called with 20 laps remaining to retrieve Alexandre Premat’s Fujitsu Racing GRM Commodore, which had become stranded in the Turn 6 run-off.

Tander pressured Davison on the restart before falling back into the clutches of Whincup.

The TeamVodafone driver had run fourth early before losing several positions with a stall at his first pitstop. Whincup clawed back the lost ground in the middle stint – spectacularly passing both Lowndes and Reynolds in one-go at Turn 5 before closing in on Tander.

Whincup eventually relieved the HRT driver of second at Turn 2 with four laps remaining – the two Holdens making minor side-to-side contact as Tander fought in vain to stave off his rival’s advances.

Reynolds had appeared set to finish fourth before contact with the Turn 4 tyre bundle broke The Bottle-O Racing Falcon’s right-front suspension seven laps from home.

Team-mate Mark Winterbottom fared little better – the Orrcon Steel Falcon finishing 23rd after losing two laps fixing steering damage that had also been inflicted by the Turn 4 tyre bundle.

Joining Reynolds and Premat on the retirements list where the Kelly Racing Commodores of Karl Reindler (broken steering) and Greg Murphy (broken suspension), and the Team Norton DJR Falcon of James Moffat. Car #18 sustained rear-end damage when a touch from Tony D’Alberto saw Moffat tag the Turn 7 exit wall early in the race.

A certain top 10 finish for D’Alberto later evaporated when the Hiflex Falcon was handed a drive-through penalty for making six kerb hopping breaches at the Turn 4 chicane.

Taz Douglas, Van Gisbergen and Jonathon Webb were also handed penalties for kerb infringements, with the Tekno Commodore having 28s added to its race time after its sixth infringement occurred on the penultimate lap.

Reynolds later received a 25 point post-race penalty for his Turn 1 clash with Van Gisbergen.

The V8  Supercars will return to the Hamilton street circuit for qualifying at 1205 local time tomorrow ahead of Race 6 at 1505.

See below for the full Race 5 result

1 Trading Post FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 59 01:28:43.7686
2 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 59 01:28:46.2970
3 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 59 01:28:48.2868
4 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 59 01:28:48.5946
5 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 59 01:29:05.0625
6 VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Ford Falcon FG 59 01:29:07.3490
7 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2 59 01:29:08.9542
8 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 59 01:29:09.2258
9 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 59 01:29:09.5911
10 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 59 01:29:09.8352
11 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 59 01:29:10.6629
12 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 59 01:29:14.0679
13 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Ford Falcon FG 59 01:29:15.8424
14 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 59 01:29:16.0700
15 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 59 01:29:16.3528
16 Jim Beam Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 59 01:29:20.7668
17 Tekno Autosports Michael Patrizi Holden Commodore VE2 59 01:29:23.0576
18 Tony D’Alberto Racing Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG 59 01:29:35.8822
19 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VE2 59 01:29:43.3933
20 Team iSelect Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VE2 59 01:29:47.5404
21 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VE2 58 01:29:37.2105
22 SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 58 01:29:59.2571
23 Orrcon Steel FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 57 01:29:25.2752
DNF The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 52 01:19:17.9555
DNF Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 39    57:48.2187
DNF Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VE2 36    52:45.7393
DNF Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2 29    53:06.9176
DNF Team Norton DJR James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 17    25:11.0184

See below for the updated championship standings

1 Will Davison 717
2 Jamie Whincup 687
3 Mark Winterbottom 507
4 Garth Tander 497
5 Shane Van Gisbergen 471
6 Lee Holdsworth 453
7 Craig Lowndes 437
8 Tim Slade 417
9 Fabian Coulthard 399
10 Rick Kelly 384
11 Steve Owen 348
12 Todd Kelly 345
13 Michael Caruso 324
14 Steven Johnson 318
15 Michael Patrizi 276
16 Russell Ingall 273
17 James Courtney 267
18 Dean Fiore 252
19 Tony D’Alberto 249
20 David Reynolds 225
21 Alexandre Premat 225
22 Jason Bright 219
23 Taz Douglas 192
24 James Moffat 171
25 David Wall 171
26 Jonathon Webb 168
27 Karl Reindler 159
28 David Russell  42
29 Greg Murphy  33

Comments are closed.