FPR completes impressive day in Practice 4

Davison (right) and Winterbottom

Davison (right) and Winterbottom

Ford Performance Racing has completed a busy day of practice for the V8 Supercars Championship in Hamilton by sweeping the top three places.

Teams began dipping into their weekend’s allocation of new soft tyres in the second half of the fourth and final 30 minute session, with Will Davison eventually emerging on top from Mark Winterbottom and David Reynolds.

Davison’s time of 1:21.79s proved a full second faster than the practice benchmark from last year.

Garth Tander, Tony D’Alberto, Craig Lowndes, Jonathon Webb, Michael Caruso, Todd Kelly and Lee Holdsworth rounded out the top 10.

Three-time and reigning champion Jamie Whincup was just 17th fastest in the session after failing to get a clean run on his soft tyres.

Greg Murphy’s Pepsi Max Commodore returned to the track in the final session after missing Practice 3 due to a crash earlier in the day.

The local hero completed 11 laps to end the session at the foot of the times.

See below for the full Practice 4 result

1 Trading Post FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:21.7942
2 Orrcon Steel FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 1:21.8281 0:00.0339
3 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 1:21.9083 0:00.1141
4 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.1358 0:00.3416
5 Tony D’Alberto Racing Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG 1:22.2163 0:00.4221
6 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.2234 0:00.4292
7 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.3173 0:00.5231
8 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.5113 0:00.7171
9 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.5913 0:00.7971
10 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Ford Falcon FG 1:22.6772 0:00.8830
11 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.6848 0:00.8906
12 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.7143 0:00.9201
13 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 1:22.9676 0:01.1734
14 VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Ford Falcon FG 1:22.9986 0:01.2044
15 Jim Beam Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 1:23.0489 0:01.2547
16 Tekno Autosports Michael Patrizi Holden Commodore VE2 1:23.0520 0:01.2578
17 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 1:23.0632 0:01.2690
18 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 1:23.0853 0:01.2911
19 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 1:23.1090 0:01.3148
20 Team iSelect Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VE2 1:23.1105 0:01.3163
21 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VE2 1:23.2912 0:01.4970
22 SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 1:23.3547 0:01.5605
23 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 1:23.6707 0:01.8765
24 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VE2 1:23.7879 0:01.9937
25 Team Norton DJR James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 1:23.8334 0:02.0392
26 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 1:24.0840 0:02.2898
27 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:24.2595 0:02.4653
28 Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2 1:24.6888 0:02.8946

Comments are closed.