Revised qualifying format for Barbagallo event

Tuesday 10th April, 2012 - 3:56pm


Jason Bright won a race at Barbagallo last year

Jason Bright won a race at Barbagallo last year

V8 Supercars has announced a revised qualifying format for Sunday races at the Tradingpost Perth Challenge.

The unique three race format saw two qualifying sessions held last year, with the driver’s fastest and second fastest laps counting for their starting positions in Sunday’s races.

This year, two shorter 15 minute sessions will be held to sort the grid for Races 8 and 9, with a short 10 minute break to be held in between.

To add an extra twist, Race 8’s qualifying session must use Dunlop’s hard tyres, while Race 9’s session will see the teams required to use the soft tyres.

The regulations for both races remain unchanged, with both hard and soft tyres to be used in both races.

The Perth event will be held on May 4-6. comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!