First day action from Bathurst Motor Festival

The start of the Historic Touring Car race

The start of the Historic Touring Car race at Bathurst today

Five race categories, and the two regularity competitions, took to the track in the first day of racing competition at the annual Bathurst Motor Festival event at Mount Panorama.

Jordan Skinner won his first F3 race, ahead of James Winslow and Nick Foster. CLICK HERE for’s race report on Formula 3 from Bathurst.

In the Kenda Tyres HQ Holden challenge, Rod Dawson and Paul Butler led from pole position to win the first of two Kenda Tyres HQRA one-hour endurances races today, taking the flag first by more than 13 seconds in an 18-lap affair.

The 69 Designs-sponsored HQ led home the Security Merchants car of Rod Raatjes with the Tascar Motorsport entry of long-time HQ competitor John Wise.

Gary Bonwick was fourth while Victorian David Keleher completed the top five with 15 cars finished the race on the lead lap in a race that featured pit stops and – for some – a driver change mid-event.
The ever-exciting FW1 Aussie Racing Cars put on a show, with Darren Chamberlain leading home a tightly-grouped pack in Race 1 to win ahead of Kyle Clews and Peter Carr. Darrin Masini finished fourth, less than one second behind the winner after a late Safety Car bunched up the field.

Race 2 saw Peter Carr take a commanding three-second victory, managing to ‘break the draft’ following a three-lap Safety Car for a crash at the top of the mountain.

Maurice Masini finished second and Adrian Cottrell third though big names like Trent Young – who had been in the top five in Race 1 – failing to finish.

A dominant performance from Greg Toepfer saw him dominate today’s pair of Group N Historic Touring Car races driving his HQ Monaro.

Bathurst driver Michael Anderson, driving a GTHO Falcon, was second in both races on what is his first-ever race meeting on the Mountain. Tasmanian driver Leon Bell (Holden Monaro) finished third in race one but failed to finish the second, the final spot on the podium snared by Falcon GT driver Cameron Worner.

The CUE Production Sports Cars had a pair of races today – one each for the individual drivers who will combine for tomorrow’s one-hour mini endurance affair.

Neale Muston dominated Race 1 to win by nearly 15 seconds in his Porsche GT3, leading home Lotus drivers Simon Hogg and Peter Lucas.

Driving solo tomorrow, Muston again dominated the second race later in the afternoon with Scott Bargwanna second and Ben Porter third. Touring Car Masters star Andrew Miedecke finished fourth in the Daytona Coupe he will share with Jamie Augustine tomorrow.

Alex Veryinis was the dominant performer in the New South Wales Road Racing Club’s pair of regularity sessions, running the closest to his nominated time in both of today’s sessions driving a HSV Clubsport.

Doug McPherson (Porsche 964) and Mark Croudace (Porsche 968 Clubsport) were the best of the large field in the Porsche Club of NSW’s two on-track outings today, respectively.

The on-track action continues tomorrow.

Comments are closed.