Sixteen teams commit to full Sports Sedan Series

Kerry Bailey will complete the full season in his recently finished Aston Martin

Kerry Bailey will complete the full season in his recently finished Aston Martin

The Kerrick Australian Sports Sedan Series appears set for a strong year with 16 teams signing up to complete the full season under its new license system.

Tony Ricciardello (Alfa GTV), John Gourlay (Audi A4), Des Wall (Corvette) and Kerry Bailey (Aston Martin) head the list of car owners that have made the five-round commitment.

The move to lock competitors into a full-time program through financial incentives comes after just five cars completed the full 2011 campaign.

CLICK HERE for’s previous story on the new system

The license system includes a provision for contracted teams to find a replacement entry for their own should they not be able to attend a round.

Several competitors have already confirmed their intention to utilise the clause, with category manager Phil Crompton stepping aside for Jeff Barnes’ Pontiac Trans Am at the opening round while his new Ford Mustang is completed.

In a more extreme case, newcomer Grant Schneider’s series entry will be shared between Bob McLaughlin (twice), Damien Johnson, Barnes and Chris Jackson throughout the season.

Additionally, non-contracted competitors will be welcomed to enter the series on a round-by-round basis.

The new-look Sports Sedan Series sees a move back to a two-class structure (Sports Sedans and Trans Ams), the introduction of a control tyre supplier (Dunlop), and a brake supply deal with Performance Friction.

The 2012 season will mark the eighth consecutive occasion that industrial cleaning equipment company Kerrick has acted as title sponsor.

The series kicks off on April 13-15 with the Shannons Nationals presented by Hi-Tec Oils at Mallala.

See below for the full list of contracted competitors

1 SS Tony Ricciardello Alfa Romeo GTV
4 SS John Gourlay Audi A4
14 SS Tony Cox SAAB
15 TA Charlie Senese Chevrolet Corvette
21 TA Phil Crompton Ford Mustang
25 TA Scott Reed Ford Mustang
32 SS Michael Robinson Holden Monaro
38 TA Des Wall Chevrolet Corvette
44 SS Warren Smith Holden Monaro
45 SS Dameon Jameson Jaguar XKR
56 SS Bruce Banks Mazda RX7
57 SS Frank Mascadri Mazda RX7
58 SS Kerry Bailey Aston Martin DBR9
66 TA Dean Camm Chevrolet Corvette
68 TA Shane Bradford Chevrolet Camaro
Grant Schnider

Comments are closed.