Record-breaking morning practice at Symmons Plains

Craig Lowndes has topped this morning's practice session

Craig Lowndes has topped this morning's practice session

Craig Lowndes has emerged fastest from a record breaking Practice 5 session at Symmons Plains.

The top seven drivers all circulated underneath the previous practice lap record during the 30 minute session, with Lowndes setting a best of 51.03s on his 22nd and final lap.

Mark Winterbottom also improved on his final tour to be just 0.02s slower than the TeamVodafone driver, while Tim Slade, Lee Holdsworth, Jamie Whincup, James Courtney, David Reynolds, Jonathon Webb, Tony D’Alberto and Rick Kelly rounded out the top 10.

The session was punctuated by successive red flags at its halfway point, with the first brought out when James Moffat beached his Team Norton DJR Falcon in the Turn 4 gravel.

Will Davison and Jamie Whincup both speared off at Turn 6 upon the resumption of the session – the championship leaders appearing to have been caught out by gravel dropped on the road by Moffat.

Whincup was able to skip through the gravel trap and continue, while Davison’s Falcon came to a stop with its front bumper millimetres from the tyre wall.

Both cars returned to the track soon after the restart, with the TeamVodafone driver immediately shooting to the top of the order.

Davison endured a more fraught time of it over the final 10 minutes – yesterday’s winner surviving a wild moment at the exit of Turn 7 on his way to 11th fastest.

Qualifying will get underway at 1300 local time.

See below for the full Practice 5 result

1 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.0254
2 Orrcon Steel FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 0:51.0486 0:00.0232
3 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 0:51.0737 0:00.0483
4 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Ford Falcon FG 0:51.1086 0:00.0832
5 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.1668 0:00.1414
6 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.1989 0:00.1735
7 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 0:51.2113 0:00.1859
8 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.3007 0:00.2753
9 Tony D’Alberto Racing Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG 0:51.3171 0:00.2917
10 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.3258 0:00.3004
11 Trading Post FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 0:51.3359 0:00.3105
12 SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 0:51.3366 0:00.3112
13 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.4170 0:00.3916
14 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.4243 0:00.3989
15 Team Norton DJR James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 0:51.5216 0:00.4962
16 VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Ford Falcon FG 0:51.6392 0:00.6138
17 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.6632 0:00.6378
18 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.6754 0:00.6500
19 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.7125 0:00.6871
20 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.7440 0:00.7186
21 Tekno Autosports Michael Patrizi Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.7952 0:00.7698
22 Team iSelect Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.7985 0:00.7731
23 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.8212 0:00.7958
24 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 0:51.9402 0:00.9148
25 Pepsi Max Crew David Russell Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.9890 0:00.9636
26 Jim Beam Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 0:52.0512 0:01.0258
27 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 0:52.0645 0:01.0391
28 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VE2 0:52.1720 0:01.1466

Comments are closed.