Winterbottom leads Ford 1-2-3 in Race 3 qualifying

Mark Winterbottom

Mark Winterbottom

Ford Performance Racing duo Mark Winterbottom and Will Davison will share the front-row for today’s third race of the 2012 V8 Supercars Championship at Symmons Plains

Will Davison displaced Shane van Gisbergen at the top of the order by setting a 51.50s lap with just over a minute remaining in the 20 minute session, before being pipped by Winterbottom just seconds later.

While Winterbottom’s 51.48s effort proved good enough for pole, the Orrcon Steel FPR driver lowered the benchmark further to 51.40s on his final flyer.

Van Gisbergen’s time, set on his first set of soft tyres, will see him start on the inside of the second row. The SP Tools Falcon driver had a difficult run on his second set of tyres, spearing off at Turn 2 on his first lap, before finding traffic on his final.

Jamie Whincup, Craig Lowndes, Garth Tander, David Reynolds, Taz Douglas, Jonathon Webb and Steve Johnson rounded out the top 10.

Taz Douglas pushed hard and will start eighth

Taz Douglas pushed hard and will start eighth

Douglas was another driver to set his best time at the midpoint of the session – the iSelect Commodore jumping to fourth on the time sheets with 10 minutes remaining.

While his final set of tyres were wasted with a lock-up at Turn 2, the V8 Supercars Championship rookie’s earlier effort was just 0.28s slower than the eventual pole time.

Qualifying was held in significantly different conditions to this morning’s practice, with a significant headwind having developed along the back straight.

Race 3 of the V8 Supercars Championship will get underway at 1610 local time.

See below for the full qualifying result

1 Orrcon Steel FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 0:51.4020
2 Trading Post FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 0:51.5019 0:00.0999
3 SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 0:51.5082 0:00.1062
4 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.5114 0:00.1094
5 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.5288 0:00.1268
6 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.5895 0:00.1875
7 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 0:51.6536 0:00.2516
8 Team iSelect Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.6721 0:00.2701
9 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.7266 0:00.3246
10 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 0:51.7754 0:00.3734
11 Team Norton DJR James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 0:51.7926 0:00.3906
12 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Ford Falcon FG 0:51.7971 0:00.3951
13 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 0:51.8171 0:00.4151
14 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.8288 0:00.4268
15 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.8468 0:00.4448
16 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.8708 0:00.4688
17 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.9544 0:00.5524
18 VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Ford Falcon FG 0:51.9671 0:00.5651
19 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.9775 0:00.5755
20 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.9869 0:00.5849
21 Tony D’Alberto Racing Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG 0:52.0348 0:00.6328
22 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 0:52.0763 0:00.6743
23 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VE2 0:52.1112 0:00.7092
24 Tekno Autosports Michael Patrizi Holden Commodore VE2 0:52.1114 0:00.7094
25 Pepsi Max Crew David Russell Holden Commodore VE2 0:52.2682 0:00.8662
26 Jim Beam Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 0:52.2776 0:00.8756
27 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 0:52.4070 0:01.0050
28 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VE2 0:52.6473 0:01.2453

See below for’s Tasmania Challenge V8 Race Guide

[issuu width=550 height=389 shareMenuEnabled=false backgroundColor=%23222222 documentId=120328135654-884b31a1d10b438c9440f0d60434f6c7 name=2012_symmonsplains username=speedcafe unit=px id=7bb87d8c-49a2-2a14-4c0a-9c34822dc616 v=2]

Comments are closed.