Jonathon Webb tops morning practice at Symmons

Jonathon Webb

Jonathon Webb

Jonathon Webb has topped the fourth practice session of the weekend at Symmons Plains ahead of qualifying this afternoon.

The Tekno Autosports driver completed a succession of fast laps within the final five minutes of the 30 minute session, ending with a best of 51.30s.

Will Davison was just 0.16s adrift in second, while Garth Tander, David Reynolds, Shane van Gisbergen, Craig Lowndes, Tim Slade, Rick Kelly, Todd Kelly and Michael Patrizi rounded out the top 10.

Less than 0.6s separated the top 23 runners at the conclusion of the session.

Mark Winterbottom brought out the only red flag of the weekend so far when he beached his Orrcon Steel FPR Falcon in the Turn 4 gravel trap at the 15 minute mark.

Winterbottom rejoined the circuit soon after the restart, and ended the session 11th fastest.

Tim Slade had been lucky to escape an early mistake at Turn 6 that saw the Lucky 7 Falcon spin backwards through the gravel trap.

Jamie Whincup also ventured off the road at Turn 6 in the opening minutes but joined Slade in escaping without damage.

Qualifying will get underway at 1325 prior to the opening 140km race of the weekend at 1610.

See below for the full session result

1 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.3039
2 Trading Post FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 0:51.4650 0:00.1611
3 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.5282 0:00.2243
4 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 0:51.5453 0:00.2414
5 SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 0:51.5528 0:00.2489
6 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.5658 0:00.2619
7 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 0:51.5793 0:00.2754
8 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.6410 0:00.3371
9 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.6571 0:00.3532
10 Tekno Autosports Michael Patrizi Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.7271 0:00.4232
11 Orrcon Steel FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 0:51.7281 0:00.4242
12 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Ford Falcon FG 0:51.7356 0:00.4317
13 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.7795 0:00.4756
14 Tony D’Alberto Racing Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG 0:51.7836 0:00.4797
15 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.7876 0:00.4837
16 VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Ford Falcon FG 0:51.8285 0:00.5246
17 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.8400 0:00.5361
18 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.8459 0:00.5420
19 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.8574 0:00.5535
20 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 0:51.8585 0:00.5546
21 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.8778 0:00.5739
22 Team Norton DJR James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 0:51.8780 0:00.5741
23 Team iSelect Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.8827 0:00.5788
24 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.9869 0:00.6830
25 Jim Beam Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 0:52.0260 0:00.7221
26 Pepsi Max Crew David Russell Holden Commodore VE2 0:52.3041 0:01.0002
27 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VE2 0:52.3486 0:01.0447
28 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 0:52.5360 0:01.2321

See below for’s Tasmania Challenge Race Guide

[issuu width=550 height=389 shareMenuEnabled=false backgroundColor=%23222222 documentId=120328135654-884b31a1d10b438c9440f0d60434f6c7 name=2012_symmonsplains username=speedcafe unit=px id=7bb87d8c-49a2-2a14-4c0a-9c34822dc616 v=2]

Comments are closed.