Davison heads FPR one-two at Symmons Plains

Will Davison

Will Davison

Will Davison has won Race 3 of the V8 Supercars Championship at Symmons Plains, leading home Ford Performance Racing team-mate Mark Winterbottom in Tasmania today.

The FPR Falcons raced nose-to-tail for the majority of the 59 laps, with Davison having taken the lead from his pole-sitting team-mate off the start.

The pair were a full 8.5s clear of third-placed Jamie Whincup at the chequered flag.

Shane van Gisbergen held out Craig Lowndes for fourth, while David Reynolds, Garth Tander, Tim Slade, Lee Holdsworth and Todd Kelly rounded out the top 10.

The entire field, bar Dean Fiore and David Wall, started the race on the hard tyres.

Davison’s cause was helped early by a battle for second breaking out between Winterbottom and Whincup. The TeamVodafone Commodore made it passed the Orrcon Falcon on the opening after a rub between the pair on the back straight.

Davison leads the field at the start

Davison leads the field at the start

Winterbottom reversed the positions immediately prior to triggering the pistop cycle on Lap 23.

Davison pitted one lap later and, despite a minor delay on the left-rear corner of the Tradingpost entry, rejoined in the effective race lead.

Winterbottom was never more than a second adrift of his team-mate over the remaining laps, but could not find a way by.

Whincup and Van Gisbergen held third and fourth to the flag, while Lowndes found himself having to pass Reynolds twice during the race after being jumped by The Bottle-O Falcon in the pitstops.

Slade could count himself lucky to finish eighth after escaping from a wild ride through the Turn 1/2 sandtrap while battling with Todd Kelly in the opening laps.

Taz Douglas ran in the top 10 for the majority of the day but lost position to Lee Holdsworth, Todd Kelly and Steven Johnson in the final laps to end the race 12th.

James Courtney and Rick Kelly were 18th and 19th respectively after the pair of Holdens spun at Turn 6 on Lap 1.

Tony D’Alberto was the last of the classified runners in 26th after losing time with steering issues caused by early contact with Alex Premat. The Frenchman had fallen down the field after stalling at the start.

It was a difficult day for this morning’s practice pace-setter Jonathon Webb, who speared off three times at the Turn 4 hairpin during the opening laps before retiring with brake problems.

Webb was joined on the retirements list by David Wall. The Brad Jones Racing Commodore was running at the chequered flag, but had lost significant laps in the pits with a power steering problem.

See below for the full race result

1 Trading Post FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 59 52:30.5485
2 Orrcon Steel FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 59 52:31.1880
3 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 59 52:39.6513
4 SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 59 52:43.9288
5 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 59 52:44.3273
6 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 59 52:49.4116
7 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 59 52:50.7661
8 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 59 52:50.9812
9 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Ford Falcon FG 59 52:57.8858
10 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 59 53:01.7111
11 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 59 53:07.0791
12 Team iSelect Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VE2 59 53:07.6798
13 VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Ford Falcon FG 59 53:09.6346
14 Team Norton DJR James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 59 53:10.1466
15 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 59 53:10.9143
16 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 59 53:19.3565
17 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VE2 59 53:22.3911
18 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2 58 52:33.5453
19 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 58 52:33.7796
20 Tekno Autosports Michael Patrizi Holden Commodore VE2 58 52:33.9415
21 Pepsi Max Crew David Russell Holden Commodore VE2 58 52:45.4633
22 Jim Beam Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 58 52:51.4591
23 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 58 53:06.3936
24 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 57 53:25.8055
25 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 51 52:53.7854
26 Tony D’Alberto Racing Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG 49 52:36.2309
DNF Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VE2 26 48:22.8355
DNF Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VE2 20 35:58.3393

See below for the championship standings after Race 3

1 Will Davison 438
2 Jamie Whincup 399
3 Mark Winterbottom 360
4 Garth Tander 354
5 Craig Lowndes 317
6 Shane Van Gisbergen 294
7 Lee Holdsworth 285
8 Fabian Coulthard 243
9 Tim Slade 237
10 Rick Kelly 216
11 Todd Kelly 204
12 Steven Johnson 204
13 David Reynolds 198
14 Steve Owen 177
15 Michael Patrizi 168
16 Russell Ingall 165
17 Alexandre Premat 159
18 Dean Fiore 144
19 Tony D’Alberto 138
20 Michael Caruso 138
21 Karl Reindler 126
22 James Moffat 123
23 Taz Douglas 102
24 David Wall  93
25 Jason Bright  87
26 James Courtney  81
27 David Russell  42
28 Jonathon Webb  36
29 Greg Murphy  33

See below for Speedcafe.com’s Tasmania Challenge Race Guide
[issuu width=550 height=389 shareMenuEnabled=false backgroundColor=%23222222 documentId=120328135654-884b31a1d10b438c9440f0d60434f6c7 name=2012_symmonsplains username=speedcafe tag=speedcafe.com unit=px id=7bb87d8c-49a2-2a14-4c0a-9c34822dc616 v=2]

Comments are closed.