Shane Tucker Monsters Sydney Pro Series

Monday 26th March, 2012 - 9:32am


Shane Tucker took the Monster Energy machine for its first win in nearly three years

Shane Tucker took the Monster Energy machine for its first win in nearly three years

Shane Tucker in the Monster Energy Pontiac tore through one of the closest ANDRA Pro Series Pro Stock fields to record a victory at Sydney Dragway, defeating Jason Grima in the Final.

It wasn’t all plain sailing for the Monster Energy drag racing pin up, with a broken intake valve in the second round almost putting pay to his weekend. The team were able to get past that and were assisted into the semis when opponent, Emilio Spinozzi couldn’t present on the start line.

“We’ve had such a tough run, I have to thank all of my guys, it’s been about three years between drinks and we’re going to party,” said Tucker.
“We had a motto all weekend that says winners never quit and quitters never win. We said we’d turn this deal around and we’ve gone from non-qualifier three weeks ago to winning the race today. It proves that hard work pays off.”

Tucker’s win had serious ANDRA Pro Series Championship implications as well. It rocketed him from seventh to third in the standings, meantime Dennis Whiting – who was widely touted to eclipse the national record in Sydney – had a shock loss in the first round. The Queenslander’s points advantage has been cut to half a point to Michael Ali.

West Aussie veteran, John Zappia extended his lead in the ANDRA Pro Series Top Doorslammer Championship by taking another victory in Sydney.

To get to the final Zappia accounted for Stuart Bishop before coming up against top qualifier – fellow West Aussie and long time rival, Robin Judd.

In the final, Zappia in his evocative HQ Monaro,  got past the Sidchrome machine of Ben Bray, who had a solid return to form in Sydney. Zappia set a 5.83 second pass to a 5.91 for Bray. Bray got to the final accounting for Mark Belleri and Peter Kapiris.

John Zappia extended his Top Doorslammer Series lead

John Zappia extended his Top Doorslammer Series lead

Ross Lemberg continued his dominant form from qualifying in Pro Stock Motorcycle, taking the victory in a personal best time of 7.24 seconds over Michael Gilbertson.

Championship Points:

Top Doorslammer

John Zappia 480
Peter Kapiris 415.5
Robin Judd 407.5
Mark Belleri 206.5
Ben Bray 193

Pro Stock 

Denis Whiting 266
Michael Ali 265.5
Shane Tucker 196
Jason Hedges 191
Tyronne Tremayne 177

Pro Stock Motorcycle 

Maurice Allen 190
Michael Gilbertson 170
Phil Howard 127
Ross Lemberg 113
Locky Ireland 109 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!