Hamilton heads another McLaren front-row lockout

Saturday 24th March, 2012 - 6:43pm


Lewis Hamilton set a stunning first flyer in Q3

Lewis Hamilton set a stunning first flyer in Q3

Lewis Hamilton has once again led a one-two qualifying result for McLaren ahead of Sunday’s Malaysian Grand Prix.

The 2008 World Champion’s first Q3 lap of 1:36.22s proved 0.15s quicker than team-mate Jenson Button’s best effort, set on his second run.

Hamilton subsequently aborted a second lap of his own in order to save tyres for the race.

Michael Schumacher will start third having completed just one Q3 run in his Mercedes, while Mark Webber, Kimi Raikkonen, Sebastian Vettel, Romain Grosjean, Nico Rosberg, Fernando Alonso and Sergio Perez round out the top 10.

Raikkonen will take a five-place grid drop however having required a gearbox change after Friday practice.

Third on the grid marks the first time that Schumacher has ended either a qualifying session or race in the top three since making his comeback two years ago.

Rosberg, Alonso and Perez mirrored Schumacher’s strategy of completing just one run in Q3, while Vettel effectively sacrificed his second lap by strategically running the hard compound tyres.

Australia’s Daniel Ricciardo will start 15th after being eliminated in Q2.

Pastor Maldonado missed Q3 by less than 0.2s despite running off at Turn 10 early in the segment.

Jean-Eric Vergne had been a surprise elimination in Q1 after flat-spotting a right-front tyre.

All 24 drivers qualified for the race, with Narain Karthikeyan scraping inside the 107% cut-off by just over 0.3s.

See below for the full qualifying result








1 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1:37.813 1:37.106 1:36.219 14
2 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1:37.575 1:36.928 1:36.368 14
3 Michael Schumacher Mercedes 1:37.517 1:37.017 1:36.391 14
4 Mark Webber Red Bull Racing-Renault 1:37.172 1:37.375 1:36.461 19
5 Kimi Räikkönen Lotus-Renault 1:37.961 1:36.715 1:36.461 13
6 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Racing-Renault 1:38.102 1:37.419 1:36.634 14
7 Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault 1:38.058 1:37.338 1:36.658 14
8 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:37.696 1:36.996 1:36.664 14
9 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1:38.151 1:37.379 1:37.566 16
10 Sergio Perez Sauber-Ferrari 1:37.933 1:37.477 1:37.698 17
11 Pastor Maldonado Williams-Renault 1:37.789 1:37.589 14
12 Felipe Massa Ferrari 1:38.381 1:37.731 15
13 Bruno Senna Williams-Renault 1:38.437 1:37.841 13
14 Paul di Resta Force India-Mercedes 1:38.325 1:37.877 15
15 Daniel Ricciardo STR-Ferrari 1:38.419 1:37.883 14
16 Nico Hulkenberg Force India-Mercedes 1:38.303 1:37.890 13
17 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 1:38.372 1:38.069 12
18 Jean-Eric Vergne STR-Ferrari 1:39.077 7
19 Heikki Kovalainen Caterham-Renault 1:39.306 9
20 Vitaly Petrov Caterham-Renault 1:39.567 6
21 Timo Glock Marussia-Cosworth 1:40.903 8
22 Charles Pic Marussia-Cosworth 1:41.250 8
23 Pedro de la Rosa HRT-Cosworth 1:42.914 4
24 Narain Karthikeyan HRT-Cosworth 1:43.655 6

See below for’s F1 Sepang Race Guide

Open publication – Free publishing – More sepang

Foxsports News Report comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!