Hamilton fastest again in Practice 2

Friday 23rd March, 2012 - 5:18pm


Lewis Hamilton attacking the Sepang circuit

Lewis Hamilton attacking the Sepang circuit

Lewis Hamilton has completed a promising opening day of running for McLaren in Sepang by topping the second practice session.

Hamilton used the medium compound tyres to stop the clocks at 1:38.17s.

Michael Schumacher was 0.36s adrift in second, while Jenson Button and Nico Rosberg completed a Mercedes sweep of the top four positions.

Button managed to complete a total of 29 laps during the session – one more than his team-mate – despite being delayed by a brake issue.

Australia’s Daniel Ricciardo performed strongly in fifth, while his countryman Mark Webber was just two places further back in seventh.

Paul di Resta endured two major offs during the session, the first of which was triggered by a brake problem.

Felipe Massa meanwhile continued to struggle with the F2012 Ferrari. The Brazilian was just 16th fastest, some 1.3s adrift of his team-mate.

It was a productive afternoon for backmarker squads Marussia and HRT, with Timo Glock out-pacing the Caterham of Heikki Kovalainen, and both HRT’s lapping clearly inside the 107% qualifying cut-off.

A third and final practice session will be held tomorrow prior to qualifying.

See below for the full Practice 2 times

1 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1:38.172
2 Michael Schumacher Mercedes 1:38.533 0.361
3 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1:38.535 0.363
4 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:38.696 0.524
5 Daniel Ricciardo STR-Ferrari 1:38.853 0.681
6 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1:38.891 0.719
7 Mark Webber Red Bull Racing-Renault 1:39.133 0.961
8 Jean-Eric Vergne STR-Ferrari 1:39.297 1.125
9 Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault 1:39.311 1.139
10 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Racing-Renault 1:39.402 1.230
11 Pastor Maldonado Williams-Renault 1:39.444 1.272
12 Nico Hulkenberg Force India-Mercedes 1:39.464 1.292
13 Paul di Resta Force India-Mercedes 1:39.625 1.453
14 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 1:39.687 1.515
15 Kimi Räikkönen Lotus-Renault 1:39.696 1.524
16 Felipe Massa Ferrari 1:40.271 2.099
17 Bruno Senna Williams-Renault 1:40.678 2.506
18 Sergio Perez Sauber-Ferrari 1:40.947 2.775
19 Vitaly Petrov Caterham-Renault 1:41.464 3.292
20 Timo Glock Marussia-Cosworth 1:41.681 3.509
21 Heikki Kovalainen Caterham-Renault 1:42.594 4.422
22 Charles Pic Marussia-Cosworth 1:42.874 4.702
23 Narain Karthikeyan HRT-Cosworth 1:43.658 5.486
24 Pedro de la Rosa HRT-Cosworth 1:43.823 5.651

See below for’s F1 Sepang Race Guide

Open publication – Free publishing – More sepang comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!