Winterbottom on top as V8 pace quickens

Mark Winterbottom's Orrcon Steel FPR Falcon

Mark Winterbottom's Orrcon Steel FPR Falcon

Mark Winterbottom has set the fastest time in a frantic end to Practice 2 for the MSS Security V8 Supercars Challenge at Albert Park.

The Orrcon Steel Falcon driver recorded a pair of 1:58.9s laps to move to the top of the sheets after 10 of the 30 minutes had been completed.

Winterbottom’s time stood until just two minutes remained, when team-mate Will Davison lowered the benchmark by a full 1.2s.

A 1:57.37s final lap was then enough to return Winterbottom to the top spot after the chequered flag fell.

Jamie Whincup put in a similarly late effort that saw the TeamVodafone driver jump from outside the top 10 to second, despite coming across a spun David Wall at the exit of Turn 16.

Davison ended up third, with Tim Slade and Jason Bright rounding out the top five.

Practice 2 was run on a dry track despite light rain hitting Albert Park following the first session this morning.

As was the case in Practice 1, several drivers went off while exploring the limits of the circuit.

Russell Ingall and Alexandre Premat were among those to taste the Turn 1 gravel, while Wall’s Turn 15 spin resulted in minor contact between the left-front corner of the Wilson Security Racing Holden and the inside wall.

The red flags flew breifly just five minutes of the session had been completed due to a tyre bundle having been dislodged at the apex of Turn 6.

A 30 minute qualifying session for the V8 Supercars will get underway at 1830 local time.

See below for the full Practice 2 result

1 Orrcon Steel FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 1:57.3518
2 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 1:57.5132 0:00.1614
3 Trading Post FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:57.7416 0:00.3898
4 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 1:57.9320 0:00.5802
5 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 1:58.2410 0:00.8892
6 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:58.4445 0:01.0927
7 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:58.5350 0:01.1832
8 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 1:58.5500 0:01.1982
9 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 1:58.6267 0:01.2749
10 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 1:58.6850 0:01.3332
11 Tekno Autosports Michael Patrizi Holden Commodore VE2 1:58.7132 0:01.3614
12 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 1:59.0070 0:01.6552
13 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 1:59.2333 0:01.8815
14 V.I.P. Petfoods Steve Owen Ford Falcon FG 1:59.2349 0:01.8831
15 SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 1:59.2736 0:01.9218
16 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2 1:59.2816 0:01.9298
17 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Ford Falcon FG 1:59.2819 0:01.9301
18 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 1:59.3433 0:01.9915
19 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 1:59.3470 0:01.9952
20 Tony D’Alberto Racing Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG 1:59.6308 0:02.2790
21 Team iSelect Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VE2 1:59.6650 0:02.3132
22 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 1:59.8193 0:02.4675
23 Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2 1:59.8225 0:02.4707
24 Jim Beam Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 1:59.8793 0:02.5275
25 Team Norton DJR James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 2:00.0385 0:02.6867
26 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VE2 2:00.2643 0:02.9125
27 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VE2 2:00.5011 0:03.1493
28 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VE2 2:00.6279 0:03.2761

See below for’s Australian Grand Prix Race Guide

Comments are closed.