Mostert secures round with Race 2 victory

Chaz Mostert's FPR Falcon

Chaz Mostert's FPR Falcon

Chaz Mostert has backed up his maiden Dunlop Series success last night by securing the Race 2 and round victories on the streets of Adelaide.

The Ford Performance Racing Falcon again led every lap from pole position, eventually finishing 8.9s clear of Walkinshaw Racing’s Nick Percat.

Percat had spent the entire race locked in combat with Scott McLaughlin – the Walkinshaw Racing Holden finally taking the place at Turn 7 on the final lap.

The result sees Percat and McLaughlin tied for second in the series standings, with the Holden driver awarded second for the round on the account of his higher Race 2 placing.

Luke Youlden and Ash Walsh rounded out the Race 2 top five, while Andrew Jones charged through from 14th on the grid to finish sixth.

Scott Pye, Tim Blanchard, Marcus Zukanovic and Kristian Lindbom completed the top 10.

Blanchard had also carved through the pack, making up five places on the first lap alone following his Turn 8 crash yesterday.

David Russell and George Miedecke finished just 14th and 15th respectively after both serving drive-through penalties for kerb-hopping at Turn 1.

Miedecke’s Sonic Motor Racing Services team-mate Rodney Jane was one place further back in 16th, having collided with both Elliot Barbour and the Turn 9 tyre barrier late in the going.

See below for the full Race 2 result

1 Ford Performance Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG  19 26:35.6805
2 Coates Hire Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VE2  19 26:44.6090
3 Fujitsu Racing Scott McLaughlin Ford Falcon FG  19 26:45.1535
4 Team Jayco Luke Youlden Ford Falcon BF  19 26:51.8917
5 Simpro Racing Ashley Walsh Ford Falcon BF  19 26:53.6117
6 Team BOC Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE  19 26:56.1102
7 Triple Eight Race Engineering Scott Pye Holden Commodore VE  19 26:56.3740
8 Jaylec Automotive Electrical Tim Blanchard Ford Falcon FG  19 27:02.9119
9 Greg Murphy Racing Marcus Zukanovic Holden Commodore VE  19 27:10.5048
10 Fast Track Comms Racing Kristian Lindbom Holden Commodore VE2  19 27:12.2743
11 GB Galvanizing/Wilson Tech Dale Wood Holden Commodore VE  19 27:14.8387
12 Go Karts Go Aust Drew Russell Ford Falcon BF  19 27:16.6324
13 Go Karts Go Aust Aaren Russell Ford Falcon BF  19 27:18.3269
14 DT Racing David Russell Holden Commodore VE  19 27:26.4124
15 Bob Jane T-Marts/Sitech George Miedecke Ford Falcon BF  19 27:27.0233
16 Bob Jane T-Marts Rodney Jane Ford Falcon FG  19 27:32.7164
17 Minda Motorsport Elliot Barbour Holden Commodore VE2  19 27:33.1717
18 NDD Geoff Emery Holden Commodore VE  19 27:47.6260
19 Solo Resource Recovery Aaron McGill Ford Falcon BF  18 26:46.8739
20 Formula Tech/Interquip Racing Brett Stewart Holden Commodore VE  18 26:49.9468
21 Warrin Mining Adam Wallis Holden Commodore VE  18 27:21.2595
22 Carrington Equipment Michael Hector Ford Falcon BF  18 27:55.8124
23 Pacific Hoists Nandi Kiss Holden Commodore VE  18 28:08.7394

See below for’s Clipsal 500 Adelaide Race Guide

Comments are closed.