Davison fastest in morning warm-up

Will Davison was fastest in the morning warm-up

Will Davison was fastest in the morning warm-up

The stage is set for the opening race of the 2012 V8 Supercars Championship following the completion of this morning’s 20 minute warm-up session.

Will Davison emerged with the fastest time – his 1:22.16s best almost 1s afrift of Craig Lowndes’ pole effort from yesterday.

Tim Slade, Mark Winterbottom, Garth Tander and Shane van Gisbergen rounded out the top five.

Jamie Whincup was sixth fastest, despite making side-on contact with the Turn 8 exit fence mid-session. The TeamVodafone driver had been closely following Jason Bright’s BOC Commodore at the time of the impact, and was able to continue to turn laps without reporting to the pits.

The session featured one red flag period, with Frenchman Alexandre Premat nosing his Fujitsu Racing GRM Commodore into the Turn 11 tyre barrier at the halfway mark.

This morning’s session is the only warm-up on the 2012 V8 Supercars Championship schedule outside of the Sandown and Bathurst endurance races. Unlike yesterday’s qualifying and top 10 shootout sessions, teams were allowed to use pre-marked tyres in the warm-up.

Davison said that the warm-up performance has his FPR crew more confident than ever.

“It’s been a good weekend for FPR so far, I think we’ve topped every session so far except the important one in the shootout,” he said.

“In the warm-up I ran full fuel and old practice tyres and we ended up on top again, so it bodes well for a big race.”

Davison added that an unknown heading into the race is the condition of his back, which has niggled the 2009 Bathurst winner during races for some time.

“Hopefully it’s better, I won’t say it’s perfect, but I don’t usually know these things until I get about 30 laps into the race,” said Davison the issue.

“I’ll just grin and bear it, throw a few pain killers down and she’ll be fine.”

Race 1 of the 2012 V8 Supercars Championship will kick off at 1410 local time.

See below for the full warm-up result

1 Trading Post FPR Ford Will Davison  Ford Falcon FG 1:22.1553
2 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade  Ford Falcon FG 1:22.1555 0:00.0002
3 Orrcon Steel FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom  Ford Falcon FG 1:22.1991 0:00.0438
4 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander  Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.2464 0:00.0911
5 SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen  Ford Falcon FG 1:22.2960 0:00.1407
6 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup  Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.3450 0:00.1897
7 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth  Ford Falcon FG 1:22.3672 0:00.2119
8 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes  Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.4578 0:00.3025
9 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso  Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.5025 0:00.3472
10 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds  Ford Falcon FG 1:22.5164 0:00.3611
11 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson  Ford Falcon FG 1:22.5393 0:00.3840
12 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly  Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.6124 0:00.4571
13 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb  Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.6369 0:00.4816
14 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly  Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.7287 0:00.5734
15 Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy  Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.7473 0:00.5920
16 Tony D’Alberto Racing Tony D’Alberto  Ford Falcon FG 1:22.8114 0:00.6561
17 Holden Racing Team James Courtney  Holden Commodore VE2 1:23.1320 0:00.9767
18 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard  Holden Commodore VE2 1:23.2438 0:01.0885
19 Team Norton DJR James Moffat  Ford Falcon FG 1:23.3292 0:01.1739
20 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall  Holden Commodore VE2 1:23.3782 0:01.2229
21 Team BOC Jason Bright  Holden Commodore VE2 1:23.3928 0:01.2375
22 Team iSelect Taz Douglas  Holden Commodore VE2 1:23.4909 0:01.3356
23 Jim Beam Racing Dean Fiore  Ford Falcon FG 1:23.5193 0:01.3640
24 Wilson Security Racing David Wall  Holden Commodore VE2 1:24.1146 0:01.9593
25 Tekno Autosports Michael Patrizi  Holden Commodore VE2 1:24.1265 0:01.9712
26 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat  Holden Commodore VE2 1:24.1632 0:02.0079
27 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler  Holden Commodore VE2 1:24.3710 0:02.2157
28 V.I.P. Petfoods Steve Owen  Ford Falcon FG 1:25.4365 0:03.2812

See below for Speedcafe.com’s Clipsal 500 Adelaide Race Guide

Comments are closed.