Frosty takes provisional pole in thrilling qualifying

Mark Winterbottom

Mark Winterbottom

Mark Winterbottom has recorded the fastest time in a thrilling Friday V8 Supercars qualifying session at the Clipsal 500.

Winterbottom’s Ford Performance Racing team-mate Will Davison sat at the top of the order before being edged by first Craig Lowndes and then the Orrcon Ford inside the final 90s.

Winterbottom’s 1:20.82s effort is the quickest ever for a V8 Supercar around the Adelaide Parklands Street Circuit. The top three drivers were separated by less than 0.05s at the conclusion of the session.

Jamie Whincup, Shane van Gisbergen, Garth Tander, Tim Slade, Fabian Coulthard, David Reynolds and Jonathon Webb complete the top 10 ahead of the shootout later this afternoon.

The qualifying session was punctuated by two red flag periods, with the first called after just five minutes when Karl Reindler tagged the exit wall at Turn 3. The Kelly Racing Commodore was left stranded in the Turn 4 run-off area with rear-end damage.

“I made a mistake on the kerb at Turn 2, went a little bit wide out on the marbles, and once you’re out there on a street circuit it’s pretty hard to get it back,” said Reindler afterward. “I hit the wall nice and square, but it was enough to damage the diff a little bit.”

Whincup had sat atop the order at the time of the red flag, and was the only driver not to return to the track before the second stoppage, this time for Jason Bright’s Team BOC Commodore, which had come to rest in the Turn 11 gravel trap.

Whincup was the first to return to the circuit when the green flags flew, moving briefly to second behind Davison, before the late efforts from Lowndes and Winterbottom.

French rookie Alexandre Premat will start his first V8 Supercars race from 25th tomorrow, despite qualifying just 1.3s slower than Winterbottom.

The top 10 shootout will take place at 1605 this afternoon.

See below for the full qualifying result

1 Orrcon Steel FPR Ford  Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 1:20.8159
2 TeamVodafone  Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 1:20.8471  0:00.0312
3 Trading Post FPR Ford  Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:20.8565  0:00.0406
4 TeamVodafone  Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 1:20.9212  0:00.1053
5 SP Tools Racing  Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 1:21.0080  0:00.1921
6 Holden Racing Team  Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 1:21.0458  0:00.2299
7 Lucky 7 Racing  Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 1:21.1702  0:00.3543
8 Lockwood Racing  Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 1:21.1999  0:00.3840
9 The Bottle-O Racing Team  David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 1:21.2051  0:00.3892
10 Tekno Autosports  Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VE2 1:21.2368  0:00.4209
11 Jack Daniel’s Racing  Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:21.2386  0:00.4227
12 Tony D’Alberto Racing  Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG 1:21.3746  0:00.5587
13 Holden Racing Team  James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2 1:21.4035  0:00.5876
14 Jack Daniel’s Racing  Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:21.4148  0:00.5989
15 Irwin Racing  Lee Holdsworth Ford Falcon FG 1:21.4880  0:00.6721
16 Fujitsu Racing GRM  Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 1:21.4966  0:00.6807
17 V.I.P. Petfoods  Steve Owen Ford Falcon FG 1:21.5431  0:00.7272
18 Jim Beam Racing  Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 1:21.5915  0:00.7756
19 Team Norton DJR  James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 1:21.5928  0:00.7769
20 Tekno Autosports  Michael Patrizi Holden Commodore VE2 1:21.6802  0:00.8643
21 Supercheap Auto Racing  Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 1:21.7532  0:00.9373
22 Pepsi Max Crew  Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2 1:21.7964  0:00.9805
23 Jim Beam Racing  Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 1:21.9426  0:01.1267
24 Team iSelect  Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.1907  0:01.3748
25 Fujitsu Racing GRM  Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.1991  0:01.3832
26 Wilson Security Racing  David Wall Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.4358  0:01.6199
27 Team BOC  Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 1:29.3326  0:08.5167
28 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing  Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2

See below for’s Clipsal 500 Adelaide Race Guide

Comments are closed.