FPR Falcons continue form in Practice 4

Mark Winterbottom leads over the kerbs at Turn 1/2

Mark Winterbottom leads over the kerbs at Turn 1/2

Ford Performance Racing will head into this afternoon’s qualifying session at the Clipsal 500 full of confidence after a one-two in Practice 4.

Mark Winterbottom repeated his Practice 3 effort by moving to the top of the order with a late charge – knocking team-mate Will Davison from the top spot with two minutes remaining.

Winterbottom’s 1:21.13s effort was just 0.06s faster than Davison’s best, which had also been set in the final minutes.

Shane van Gisbergen, Craig Lowndes, Michael Caruso, Garth Tander, Jamie Whincup, David Reynolds, Jonathon Webb and Tim Slade completed the top 10.

Whincup had looked likely to undercut Winterbottom at the end of the session, with the TeamVodafone Commodore fastest to the end of the second sector before a right-front lock-up at the final corner ruined his lap.

Whincup had run straight on at Turn 11 during an earlier effort as the reigning champion continued to push the limits of the Adelaide Parklands circuit.

It took four sessions for Alexandre Premat to come unstuck, with the French rookie damaging the left-front corner of his Fujitsu Racing Holden on the Turn 1 tyre bundle.

FPR chassis have swept all five V8 Supercars sessions so far today, with David Reynolds (Practice 1), Tony D’Alberto (Practice 2), Mark Winterbottom (Practice 3 and 4) and Chaz Mostert (Dunlop Series Qualifying) all taking turns at the top of the order.

Qualifying for Race 1 of the V8 Supercars Championship will get underway at 1450 local time.

See below for the full Practice 4 result

1 Orrcon Steel FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 1:21.1303
2 Trading Post FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:21.1936  0:00.0633
3 SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 1:21.2363  0:00.1060
4 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 1:21.3677  0:00.2374
5 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 1:21.4183  0:00.2880
6 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 1:21.4760  0:00.3457
7 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 1:21.4860  0:00.3557
8 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 1:21.5171  0:00.3868
9 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VE2 1:21.6801  0:00.5498
10 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 1:21.7511  0:00.6208
11 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Ford Falcon FG 1:21.7776  0:00.6473
12 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2 1:21.7810  0:00.6507
13 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 1:21.8488  0:00.7185
14 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 1:21.8619  0:00.7316
15 Tony D’Alberto Racing Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG 1:21.8823  0:00.7520
16 Team Norton DJR James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 1:21.9414  0:00.8111
17 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.0232  0:00.8929
18 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 1:22.0540  0:00.9237
19 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.0802  0:00.9499
20 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.0989  0:00.9686
21 Tekno Autosports Michael Patrizi Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.1826  0:01.0523
22 Jim Beam Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 1:22.2634  0:01.1331
23 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.5470  0:01.4167
24 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.6326  0:01.5023
25 Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.6491  0:01.5188
26 V.I.P. Petfoods Steve Owen Ford Falcon FG 1:22.9189  0:01.7886
27 Team iSelect Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VE2 1:23.0246  0:01.8943
28 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 1:23.0527  0:01.9224

See below for Speedcafe.com’s Clipsal 500 Adelaide Race Guide

Comments are closed.