Chaz Mostert wins opening Dunlop Series race

Chaz Mostert

Chaz Mostert

Ford Performance Racing’s Chaz Mostert has taken his first Dunlop Series race victory by dominating the season opener on the streets of Adelaide.

Mostert led from start to finish, crossing the line 8.1s clear of second placed Scott McLaughlin after just 14 laps of racing.

Nick Percat took third after dropping behind fellow second row starter Scott Pye off the start. The Walkinshaw Racing driver remained tucked in behind the Triple Eight Commodore until Lap 13, when Percat nudged Pye wide at Turn 6.

Tim Blanchard also used the opportunity to sneak past Pye, but would eventually find the Turn 8 wall while trying to keep pace with Percat.

An impressive Ash Walsh eventually took fourth ahead of Pye, while Luke Youlden, Geoff Emery, Rodney Jane, David Russell and George Miedecke rounded out the top 10.

Russell’s ninth place finish came despite a late-race spin, which occurred while the Dreamtime Racing driver had been attempting to take fourth from Walsh at Turn 9.

Cameron Waters fared even worse than his team-mate, with the reigning Formula Ford Champion failing to finish after hitting the Turn 8 wall while running 11th.

The first four laps of the race had been run under Safety Car after a collision between Aaren Russell and Daniel Jilesen saw the latter dispatched into the wall on the right hand side of the circuit under the Clipsal bridge.

Russell had been trying to avoid his slow-starting Drew Russell at the time of the contact, and was later penalised for the incident which caused major damage to Jilesen’s Falcon.

While there were no further Safety Car periods, the race was called five laps short of its scheduled 23 laps after reaching its 30 minute maximum duration.

See below for the full Race 1 result

1 Ford Performance Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG 18 29:33.8093
2 Fujitsu Racing Scott McLaughlin Ford Falcon FG 18 29:41.9520
3 Coates Hire Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VE2 18 29:45.5843
4 Simpro Racing Ashley Walsh Ford Falcon BF 18 29:54.8907
5 Triple Eight Race Engineering Scott Pye Holden Commodore VE 18 29:58.3969
6 Team Jayco Luke Youlden Ford Falcon BF 18 30:00.2516
7 NDD Geoff Emery Holden Commodore VE 18 30:04.6005
8 Bob Jane T-Marts Rodney Jane Ford Falcon FG 18 30:04.9291
9 DT Racing David Russell Holden Commodore VE 18 30:06.4792
10 Bob Jane T-Marts/Sitech George Miedecke Ford Falcon BF 18 30:12.4085
11 Go Karts Go Aust Drew Russell Ford Falcon BF 18 30:13.4405
12 Greg Murphy Racing Marcus Zukanovic Holden Commodore VE 18 30:14.7549
13 Minda Motorsport Elliot Barbour Holden Commodore VE2 18 30:22.3242
14 Team BOC Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE 18 30:31.5942
15 GB Galvanizing/Wilson Tech Dale Wood Holden Commodore VE 18 30:33.3607
16 Warrin Mining Adam Wallis Holden Commodore VE 18 30:33.8186
17 Formula Tech/Interquip Racing Brett Stewart Holden Commodore VE 17 29:35.0281
18 Go Karts Go Aust Aaren Russell Ford Falcon BF 17 29:42.7113
19 Carrington Equipment Michael Hector Ford Falcon BF 16 29:50.2919
DNF Pacific Hoists Nandi Kiss Holden Commodore VE 16 27:19.6499
DNF Jaylec Automotive Electrical Tim Blanchard Ford Falcon FG 13 22:48.7797
DNF DT Racing Cameron Waters Holden Commodore VE 11 20:11.3310
DNF Fast Track Comms Racing Kristian Lindbom Holden Commodore VE2 7 14:29.9934
DNF Solo Resource Recovery Aaron McGill Ford Falcon BF 5 11:45.5609
DNF Matt Stone Racing Daniel Jilesen Ford Falcon BF

Comments are closed.