Nick Percat fastest in Dunlop Series practice

Nick Percat

Nick Percat

Walkinshaw Racing’s Nick Percat has ended the opening day of the 2012 Dunlop Series on top of the time sheets.

Percat set a best time of 1:22.37s late in the second of two 30 minute practice session today to edge out Ford Performance Racing’s Chaz Mostert by 0.35s.

Percat, who enters his third season in the V8 Supercars Development Series this year, also topped the morning’s opening session.

Tim Blanchard was third fastest for the day in his Matthew White Motorsport prepared ex-Ford Performance Racing Falcon, having sat atop the Practice 2 times with just five minutes remaining.

Scott McLaughlin and Luke Youlden make it four Falcons in the top five, while Scott Pye, Andrew Jones, George Miedecke, Rodney Jane and Ashley Walsh completed the top 10.

Dale Wood's Commodore spent most of the day in its garage

Dale Wood's Commodore spent most of the day in its garage

It was a difficult debut for Kelly Racing’s Dunlop Series squad Dreamtime Racing, with David Russell and Cameron Waters just 14th and 16th fastest respectively.

In even more trouble was Dale Wood, who failed to take to the track in the second session after crashing in the early laps of the morning session.

Wood lost control of his Greg Murphy Racing Holden in the Senna Chicane before making head-on contact with the right-hand side tyre wall on the exit.

It is expected that the team, which is being headed by two-time V8 Supercars Championship winning engineer Paul Forgie this weekend, will have the #45 Commodore repaired in time for qualifying tomorrow morning.

See below for the combined times from Practice 1 and 2

1  Coates Hire Racing Nick Percat  Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.3738
2  Ford Performance Racing Chaz Mostert  Ford Falcon FG 1:22.7188 0:00.3450
3  Jaylec Automotive Electrical Tim Blanchard  Ford Falcon FG 1:22.9335 0:00.5597
4  Fujitsu Racing Scott McLaughlin  Ford Falcon FG 1:23.0387 0:00.6649
5  Team Jayco Luke Youlden  Ford Falcon BF 1:23.4465 0:01.0727
6  Triple Eight Race Engineering Scott Pye  Holden Commodore VE 1:23.5277 0:01.1539
7  Team BOC Andrew Jones  Holden Commodore VE 1:23.5545 0:01.1807
8  Bob Jane T-Marts/Sitech George Miedecke  Ford Falcon BF 1:23.5731 0:01.1993
9  Bob Jane T-Marts Rodney Jane  Ford Falcon FG 1:23.6166 0:01.2428
10  Simpro Racing Ashley Walsh  Ford Falcon BF 1:23.8790 0:01.5052
11  Fast Track Comms Racing Kristian Lindbom  Holden Commodore VE2 1:24.0534 0:01.6796
12  Minda Motorsport Elliot Barbour  Holden Commodore VE2 1:24.0614 0:01.6876
13  NDD Geoff Emery  Holden Commodore VE 1:24.2468 0:01.8730
14  DT Racing David Russell  Holden Commodore VE 1:24.2797 0:01.9059
15  Greg Murphy Racing Marcus Zukanovic  Holden Commodore VE 1:24.3002 0:01.9264
16  DT Racing Cameron Waters  Holden Commodore VE 1:24.4254 0:02.0516
17  Go Karts Go Aust Drew Russell  Ford Falcon BF 1:24.4948 0:02.1210
18  Warrin Mining Adam Wallis  Holden Commodore VE 1:24.8980 0:02.5242
19  Go Karts Go Aust Aaren Russell  Ford Falcon BF 1:25.0343 0:02.6605
20  Matt Stone Racing Daniel Jilesen  Ford Falcon BF 1:25.4899 0:03.1161
21  Formula Tech/Interquip Racing Brett Stewart  Holden Commodore VE 1:28.7393 0:06.3655
22  Carrington Equipment Michael Hector  Ford Falcon BF 1:29.7476 0:07.3738
23  Pacific Hoists Nandi Kiss  Holden Commodore VE 1:29.9675 0:07.5937
24  Solo Resource Recovery Aaron McGill  Ford Falcon BF 1:30.4357 0:08.0619
25  GB Galvanizing/Wilson Tech Dale Wood  Holden Commodore VE 1:32.9473 0:10.5735

 See below for’s Clipsal 500 Adelaide Race Guide

Comments are closed.