Steven Lines Monsters Sprintcar Title

Steven Lines won the opening night of the Australian Sprintcar Title aboard the Monster Energy Drinks machine

Steven Lines won the opening night of the Australian Sprintcar Title aboard the Monster Energy Drinks machine

Mount Gambier’s Steven Lines has swept all before him to take the opening night preliminary feature of the 50th Australian Sprintcar Title at Adelaide’s Speedway City.

Lines dominated the feature race in the Monster Energy Drinks Monte  Motorsport machine, taking the win from David Murcott.

Lines – who is yet to have won an Australian Sprintcar Title (he is a former Street Stock national champion) – heads into the second night of competition leading the pointscores also.

Third placing in the preliminary feature went to West Australian Ryan Farrell, with Tasmanians Jamie Bricknell and Shaun Dobson rounding out the top five.

The big guns in the Title chase have had a quiet start to their campaigns, however with another full night of racing tomorrow and difficult track conditions being served up due to the heat in Adelaide today, there is every chance they will be right up the front once the A-Main rolls around tomorrow night.

Robbie Farr in the Orrcon Steel Eastcoast Pipelines machine finished the preliminary in sixth, whilst Brooke Tatnell crossed the line in eighth. Current World Series Sprintcars leader, James McFadden was 11th with Garry Brazier ending the race in 16th. Brazier was involved in an early race incident with Ricky Maiolo that ended the South Aussie’s race.

Those not to have made the feature tonight and therefore with plenty of work to do tomorrow included multiple champion, Max Dumesny, local hope Trevor Green, Sydney brothers Ian and Kerry Madsen and Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic winner, Ian Loudoun.

The 12 heat races were taken out by Lynton Jeffrey, Shaun Dobson, David Murcott, Kevin Titman, Mark Reuter, Steven Lines, James McFadden, Daniel Pestka, Garry Brazier, Jamie Bricknell and Jamie Cobby.

Hostilities will resume tomorrow, with additional heats leading towards the last chance B-Main and the Grand Finale over 50 laps.


1. Steven Lines – 20 laps

2. David Murcott

3. Ryan Farrell

4. Jamie Bricknell

5. Shaun Dobson

6. Robbie Farr

7. Andrew Scheuerle

8. Brooke Tatnell

9. Matt Egel

10. Jamie Veal

11. James McFadden

12. Dylan Jenkin

13. Carl Dowling

14. Richard Morgan

15. Ben Ellement

16. Garry Brazier

17. Brent Aprile

DNF: Ricky Maiolo


1. Steven Lines – 59 points

2. David Murcott – 54.5

3. Jamie Bricknell – 53.5

4. Ryan Farrell – 53

5. Shaun Dobson – 51

6. Andrew Scheuerle – 49

7. Robbie Farr – 47.5

8. Carl Dowling – 46

9. Ben Ellement – 45

10. Brooke Tatnell – 44.5



Comments are closed.