Farr crowned President at Avalon

Thursday 19th January, 2012 - 12:50pm


Robbie Farr took out the President's Cup at Avalon (Photo by Wade Aunger)

Robbie Farr took out the President's Cup at Avalon (Photo by Wade Aunger)

Robbie Farr sprinted to another victory at Avalon Raceway in the President’s Cup – the traditional pre-cursor to Australian Sprintcar Racing’s busiest fortnight.

It’s the perfect time for Farr to come into good form, with the Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic this weekend and next weekend the Australian Title at Adelaide’s Speedway City – one of Farr’s favourite race circuits.

The Orrcon Steel-backed Eastcoast Pipelines racer led home Avalon local, David Murcott and World of Outlaws Champion, Jason Meyers. Meyers – who started from sixth on the grid – forged his way onto the podium. His good form heading into this weekend’s Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic at Warrnambool continues.

Current World Series Sprintcars Championship leader, James McFadden was fourth, with Australian international, Kerry Madsen rounding out the top five.

No less than six American visitors lined up for the A-Main at the Geelong Raceway, with perennial favourite, Danny Smith finishing sixth in front of Daryn Pittman and Jason Johnson. Lucas Wolfe would greet the chequers in 11th.

The crews will now switch their attention to Mount Gambier’s Borderline Raceway for Friday night’s King’s Challenge, before Saturday and Sunday night’s Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic at Sungold Stadium in Warrnambool. comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!