FIA GT1 schedule announced – sort of

David Brabham during the 2011 FIA GT1 Series

The FIA GT1 schedule for 2012 has been announced with six of the 10 races still subject to approval.

Approvals include everything from confirmation of circuit homologation, promoter’s contract and the TBA round’s location and date is yet to be advised.

Amongst the changes is the dropping of Yas Marina (Abu Dhabi), the Sachsenring (Germany), Silverstone (Britain) and Paul Ricard (France) all losing places on the schedule; with the French round moving to Nogaro and becoming the season opener.

For Abu Dhabi, the GT1 round and Australia’s V8 Supercars,  were the biggest races at Yas Marina outside of the Formula One Grand Prix. In 2012 the V8s will race as a support category to F1.

The biggest inclusion to the series is a race in Moscow making it the first major championship to race in Russia.

Zandvoort (Holland) gets a date for the first time, while the series keeps its Chinese double-header, and hopes that the Beijing round can become a street race next year. A 10th event remains subject to confirmation, and the season finale again takes place at Argentina’s San Luis track.

Despite the numerous asterisks in the calendar series boss Stephane Ratel hopes the move to GT3 regulations and the presence of the GT3 European Championship on several joint bills will give the world championship a firm footing for 2012.

“The 2012 calendar is very exciting and, with six dates being joint GT1 and GT3 events, it will provide everyone – teams, drivers, sponsors and race fans – with a great weekend of GT racing,” said Ratel.

“The mix of European and overseas events is the right balance and I’m very pleased that we will be going to Moscow next year, which, like China, is a very important market. It will mark another first for SRO and the FIA GT Championships.”

2012 GT1 World Championship schedule

Date Venue Nation
8 April Nogaro France
22 April Zolder*** Belgium
27 May Navarra Spain
8 July Algarve Portugal
26 August Beijing ** China
2 September Ordos ** China
16 September Moscow * Russia
7 October Zandvoort Netherlands
25 November San Luis * Aregntina

* Subject to ASN confirmation/circuit homologation

** Subject to ASN confirmation/promoter contract

*** Subject to the homologation of the circuit


Comments are closed.