Fifteen internationals for Toyota Series

Mitch Evans took out the 2011 TRS

Mitch Evans took out the 2011 TRS and will return next year

A total of fifteen international drivers are expected to line-up for the 2012 Toyota Racing Series in New Zealand.

The eighth season of the single-seater class will kick-off in mid-January, with five rounds to be run on consecutive weekends.

The entry will see drivers from Britain, Holland, France, Austria, Puerto Rico, Brazil, India, Thailand, Malaysia, Australia and New Zealand all take part.

The international contingent will be headlined by 20-year-old Briton Josh Hill, with the son of 1996 World Drivers’ Champion Damon Hill returning for a second TRS season

Other visitors include 16-year-old Ferrari Academy driver Raffaele Marciello, who has raced in the Formula Abarth and Italian Formula 3 Championships since graduating from karts.

Fellow Italian Michela Cerruti will also be on the grid, with the 24-year-old using the TRS to make the switch from touring car to open wheel competition.

Local honour will be held up by Mitch Evans, Nick Cassidy, Chris Vlok, Jono Lester and Damon Leitch, while Jordan Oon is the only entrant from Australia.

The series begins at Teretonga on the January 14-15 weekend, before visiting Timaru, Taupo, Hampton Downs and Manfield, with the final round doubling as the 57th New Zealand Grand Prix.

See below for the TRS entry list as of December 12

No. Driver Age Nation
1 Mitch Evans 17 New Zealand
2 Nick Cassidy 17 New Zealand
4 Chris Vlok 19 New Zealand
5 Bruno Bonifacio 17 Brazil
6 Felix Serralles 19 Puerto Rica
7 Jono Lester 22 New Zealand
8 Melvin Moh 23 Malaysia
9 Victor Sendin 16 France
10 Josh Hill 20 United Kingdom
11 Shahaan Engineer 16 India
15 Lukas Auer 17 Austria
16 Hannes van Asseldonk 19 Netherlands
42 Jordan King 17 United Kingdom
52 Nathanael Berthon 22 France
53 Raffaele Marciello 16 Italy
87 Damon Leitch 18 New Zealand
88 Michela Cerruti 24 Italy
TBA TBA 23 United Kingdom
TBA Tanart Sathienthirakul 19 Thailand
TBA Jordon Oon 21 Australia

Comments are closed.