Chaz Mostert collects Mike Kable Young Gun

Chaz Mostert

Chaz Mostert

Chaz Mostert has collected the prestigious Mike Kable Young Gun Award at the V8 Supercars Gala Dinner this evening.

Mostert finished sixth in the Fujitsu V8 Supercars Series, taking top rookie honours.

The multiple Australian karting champion and 2010 Australian Formula Ford champ made the step up to V8 Supercars this year, driving for Miles Racing in the first five rounds. He switched to Ford Performance Racing in the final two rounds, finishing on the podium at Sandown.

“It’s awesome to win this award,” Mostert told

“Everything went the way we wanted. The main goal was to try and win races, and with FPR, it gave me some competitive speed. it’s brilliant to pull it off.”

Mostert joins an elite list of Mike Kable Young Gun Award winners. The award started in 2000, has been collected by Matthew White (2000), Marcos Ambrose (2001), Rick Kelly (2002), Mark Winterbottom (2003), Warren Luff (2004), Grant Denyer (2005), James Courtney (2006), Dale Wood (2007), Karl Reindler (2008), James Moffat (2009) and Tim Blanchard (2010).

CLICK HERE for the full list of winners from tonight’s V8 Supercars’ Gala Dinner.

Comments are closed.