Whincup wins 2011 V8 Supercars Championship

Sunday 4th December, 2011 - 4:00pm


Jamie Whincup

Jamie Whincup

Jamie Whincup is the 2011 V8 Supercars Champion after salvaging an eighth place finish from a difficult final race at the Sydney Telstra 500.

While Craig Lowndes finished Race 27 just 0.7s behind race winner Mark Winterbottom in second place, the three-time champion fell 35 points short of his team-mate in the final standings.

Shane van Gisbergen concluded a strong season for the SP Tools Falcon with a podium finish, while Jonathon Webb, Russell Ingall, Michael Caruso, James Courtney, Whincup, Jason Bright and Tim Slade filled fourth through 10th.

There was heartbreak for Paul Dumbrell in the closing stages, as The Bottle-O Racing driver spun out of second place with just five laps to go in his last event as a full-time driver.

The incident also claimed Lee Holdsworth, who was running third in his last drive with Fujitsu Racing before striking the stationary Falcon at the blind Turn 11.

Jamie Whincup with his championship trophy

Jamie Whincup with his championship trophy

With Will Davison also in the wall having understeered off at Turn 8 while attempting to take third from van Gisbergen, the Safety Car was called – setting up a two-lap sprint to the finish that proved to do little to change the finishing order.

The race started in bizarre circumstances with half the field electing to pit on the warm-up lap for slick tyres.

Davison, Whincup and Lowndes were among those to take the start from the grid on wets, but were in pitlane before a dozen laps had been run as the intermittent showers eventually proved too few and far between for the grooved rubber.

The stops saw Tony D’Alberto, Winterbottom and Holdsworth assume the top positions – with the Orrcon Falcon taking the lead before a Lap 25 Safety Car for a stricken Warren Luff saw the entire field come to pitlane.

With the strategies reset, Lowndes and Whincup were mired down in 10th and 18th respectively – setting up a difficult afternoon for the TeamVodafone duo.

The leading contenders elected not to pit under a second Safety Car – this time for a crash from Tony D’Alberto on Lap 33, but returned to the lane 14 laps later when the full-course yellow again flew for pieces of Garth Tander’s exhaust that had been left on the circuit.

Lowndes and Whincup had risen to seventh and ninth respectively in the middle phase of the race, but fell to eighth and 18th in the final stops as the #88 car was forced to wait in line for its tyres and fuel.

The pair again made their way through the pack after the restart, as Winterbottom continued to measure the gap to Dumbrell at the front.

Like Dumbrell, Holdsworth and Davison, Bright saw a strong result slip away in the closing stages, with the Team BOC Commodore being turned around by Webb while running seventh on Lap 59.

The fracas saw Whincup gain the extra place he needed to move into the top 12 – a position from which he could not lose the title no matter where Lowndes finished.

The Race 28 results see Winterbottom hold onto third in the championship standings ahead of van Gisbergen and Tander.

Rick Kelly moves passed Will Davison for sixth, while Holdsworth, Slade and Courtney round out the top 10, with the Toll HRT pilot bumping Alex Davison to 11th.

See below for the full Race 27 result

1  Orrcon Steel FPR Falcon Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 74 02:05:05.2756
2  TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 74 02:05:06.0018
3  SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 74 02:05:08.9735
4  Mother Energy Racing Team Jonathon Webb Ford Falcon FG 74 02:05:09.7854
5  Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 74 02:05:10.4633
6  Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 74 02:05:11.0128
7  Toll Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2 74 02:05:11.5128
8  TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 74 02:05:12.5991
9  Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 74 02:05:13.4312
10  Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 74 02:05:13.9571
11  Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2 74 02:05:14.3854
12  Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 74 02:05:14.7746
13  Stratco Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore VE2 74 02:05:16.1879
14  Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 74 02:05:16.5636
15  VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Holden Commodore VE2 74 02:05:19.9768
16  Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 66 02:05:38.2490
17  Jana Living Racing Jason Bargwanna Holden Commodore VE2 64 02:05:24.7348
18  Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 64 02:05:25.4068
19  Toll Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 63 02:05:22.0045
DNF  Trading Post FPR Falcon Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 69 01:55:54.6091
DNF  The Bottle-O Racing Team Paul Dumbrell Ford Falcon FG 69 01:56:43.5475
DNF  Fujitsu Racing GRM Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VE2 68 01:54:19.4389
DNF  Triple F Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 55 01:55:55.6105
DNF  Wilson Security Team McGrath Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG 31    52:04.6914
DNF  Irwin Racing Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 30    50:26.5164
DNF  Gulf Western Oil Racing Warren Luff Holden Commodore VE2 23    37:24.2510
DNF  Bundaberg Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2  1     3:12.9611
DNF  Jim Beam Racing James Moffat Ford Falcon FG  1     4:05.2482

See below for the championship standings after 28 of 28 races


Driver Name


1 Jamie Whincup 3168
2 Craig Lowndes 3133
3 Mark Winterbottom 2710
4 Shane van Gisbergen 2672
5 Garth Tander 2574
6 Rick Kelly 2358
7 Will Davison 2345
8 Lee Holdsworth 1920
9 Tim Slade 1904
10 James Courtney 1869
11 Alex Davison 1850
12 Fabian Coulthard 1839
13 Greg Murphy 1750
14 Michael Caruso 1729
15 Steven Johnson 1708
16 Jason Bright 1633
17 Steve Owen 1561
18 Todd Kelly 1550
19 David Reynolds 1519
20 Russell Ingall 1514
21 Jonathon Webb 1493
22 Jason Bargwanna 1352
23 James Moffat 1306
24 Paul Dumbrell 1242
25 Karl Reindler 1144
26 Tony D’Alberto 1045
27 Dean Fiore 992
28 Warren Luff 809
29 Mark Skaife 532
30 Nick Percat 527
31 Richard Lyons 511
32 Allan Simonsen 509
33 Andrew Jones 460
34 Cameron McConville 406
35 John McIntyre 393
36 Steve Richards 366
37 Luke Youlden 344
38 Andrew Thompson 334
39 Sebastian Bourdais 288
40 Tim Blanchard 288
41 Paul Morris 268
42 Jack Perkins 255
43 Greg Ritter 243
44 Dale Wood 236
45 Marcus Marshall 229
46 Oliver Gavin 222
47 Owen Kelly 220
48 Daniel Gaunt 219
49 Jorg Bergmeister 207
50 Simon Pagenaud 207
51 David Russell 202
52 Shane Price 197
53 Nathan Pretty 192
54 Michael Patrizi 187
55 David Wall 185
56 Darren Turner 165
57 Richard Westbrook 150
58 Gil de Ferran 150
59 Craig Baird 148
60 Boris Said 147
61 Matthew Halliday 137
62 Augusto Farfus Jr 132
63 Jan Magnussen 129
64 Joey Hand 120
65 Alex Tagliani 120
66 Emanuele Pirro 114
67 Dean Canto 109
68 Taz Douglas 93
69 Marc Lieb 87
70 Dirk Muller 69
71 David Besnard 66
72 Christian Klein 60
73 Vitantonio Liuzzi 48
74 Sarrazin Stephane 42
75 Fabrizio Giovanardi 39
76 Marino Franchitti 0
77 Cameron Waters 0
78 Grant Denyer 0 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!