Perkins, Thompson take final race, round wins

Andrew Thompson and Jack Perkins

Andrew Thompson and Jack Perkins

Jack Perkins has won the final race of the 2011 Fujitsu V8 Supercars Series on a drying track at Sydney Olympic Park.

The Sonic Motor Racing Services Ford driver ran just sixth in the early laps, but made his way into second by the tie five of the 17 laps had been completed.

Facing a 3.5s deficit to Nick Percat, Perkins proved gentler on his wet tyres than the Coates Hire Commodore driver – eventually reeling in the 2011 Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 victor to take the lead and eventually the win.

Third place in the race handed a sixth consecutive round win to Andrew Thompson, while Scott McLaughlin and Chaz Mostert rounded out the top five.

Geoff Emery charged in the second half of the race to finish sixth – the first of the cars on slick tyres, ahead of Aaron McGill, David Russell, Drew Russell and Tony Bates.

Paul Morris was a surprise early contender, moving from seventh on the grid to second to run second as soon as Lap 2.

His assault would last a total of just five laps however, with the right-front corner of the Commodore VE crying enough after contact with the tyre barriers in the first chicane.

The front-end of Nick Cassidy ‘s Commodore was also a victim of the punishing circuit – the Kiwi retiring having run inside the top 10 in just his second V8 Supercars start.

The Race 2 results see Jack Perkins snatch second in the series standings from David Russell by just seven points, with Scott McLaughlin and Tim Blanchard rounding out the top five.

See below for the full Race 2 result

1 Bob Jane T Marts  Jack Perkins Ford Falcon BF 17 28:45.4420
2 Coates Hire Racing  Nick Percat Holden Commodore VE 17 28:50.3843
3 Triple Eight Race Engineering  Andrew Thompson Holden Commodore VE 17 28:56.7592
4 Fujitsu  Scott McLaughlin Ford Falcon FG 17 28:57.2858
5 TEAM NAVY  Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG 17 29:00.0145
6 AC Delco/Simworx/NDD  Geoff Emery Holden Commodore VE 17 29:09.3998
7 Solo/NCSS  Aaron McGill Ford Falcon BF 17 29:11.6922
8 Team Jayco  David Russell Ford Falcon BF 17 29:14.9215
9 Carrington Equip/Go Karts Go  Drew Russell Ford Falcon BF 17 29:27.3151
10 / AFS  Tony Bates Holden Commodore VE 17 29:28.6650
11 R&J Batteries/EarthEx/KingGee  Daniel Jilesen Holden Commodore VE 17 29:29.1746
12 Bisley Work Wear  Colin Sieders Ford Falcon BF 17 29:29.2125
13 Team BOC  Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE 17 29:32.4521
14 Fastaz Motorsport  Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VZ 17 29:34.7015
15 CEG Rentals/Go Karts Go  Aaren Russell Ford Falcon BF 17 29:38.0521
16 Bob Jane T-Marts  Rodney Jane Ford Falcon FG 17 29:38.3653
17 Mad Croc Energy  Robert Cregan Ford Falcon BF 17 29:43.3476
18 Wilson Security Racing  David Wall Holden Commodore VE 17 29:51.4339
19 Team Jayco  Tim Blanchard Ford Falcon BF 17 29:52.2416
20 Formula Tech/Interquip Racing  Brett Stewart Holden Commodore VE 17 30:28.2056
DNF Drill Pro Services/Fuchs/ACS  Nick Cassidy Holden Commodore VE  6 11:12.3340
DNF Sargent Security Racing  Paul Morris Holden Commodore VE  5  9:23.1547

Comments are closed.